American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

2015 Trauma Award Winners

National Safety Council Award

On Monday, October 5, Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS (center), received the 2015 National Safety Council Surgeons’ Award for Safety, “In recognition of a distinguished career and visionary leadership dedicated to prevention of injuries, regionalization of trauma care, innovative trauma research, and lifelong commitment to the care of trauma patients.” The award was presented at the annual Committee on Trauma (COT) dinner by Grace S. Rozycki, MD, MBA, AAST President (left); Ronald Stewart, MD, FACS (right), ACS COT Chair; and Vicki M. Verboom, Director, Corporate Relations & Partnerships, NSC (not pictured).

National Safety Council Award Winner Dr. Maier


Meritorious Achievement Award

Raul Coimbra, MD, PhD, FACS (right), received the Meritorious Achievement Award Monday, October 5, night at the annual Committee on Trauma (COT) dinner during Clinical Congress. Dr. Coimbra was honored for his outstanding contributions to the ACS Regional Committees on Trauma (ACS RCOT) made during his term as the immediate past Vice-Chair of the ACS COT and Chair of the ACS RCOT. Dr. Coimbra is pictured with Leonard Weireter, MD, FACS, current Vice-Chair of the ACS COT and Chair of the ACS RCOT, and Ronald Stewart, MD, FACS, Chair of the ACS COT.

Trauma Achievement Award Winner Dr. Coimbra