American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes


Texas Forum

(Top L to R: Kevin P. Lally, MD, MS, FACS; M. Michael Shabot, MD, FACS, FCCM, FACMI; Richard E. Wainerdi, PE, PhD; Thomas A. Aloia, MD, FACS; Bottom L to R: Taylor S. Riall, MD, PhD, FACS; Barbara Lee Bass, MD, FACS; H. Randolph Bailey, MD, FACS; Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, FACS)

On September 10, 2012, the American College of Surgeons (ACS) hosted its eighth national Surgical Health Care Quality Forum at The Health Museum in Houston, TX. The event featured keynote speaker U.S. Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX18), who commended the ACS for proactively working to improve health care quality and urged surgeons and physicians to be involved in health care policy discussions moving forward.

Co-hosted and moderated by H. Randolph Bailey, MD, FACS, chief of the division of colon and rectal surgery, deputy chief of the department of surgery, The Methodist Hospital; professor of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College, University of Texas Health Science Center; Regent, ACS, and Barbara Lee Bass, MD, FACS, John F. and Carolyn Bookout Distinguished Endowed Chair of Surgery, The Methodist Hospital; executive director, Methodist Institute for Technology, Innovation and Education (MITIESM); professor of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College; former member, ACS Board of Regents, the forum brought together a panel of experts to discuss the critical elements required in successful quality improvement programs and the influence of rigorous medical training on the overall state of health care in Texas and across the nation, using key programs such as MITIE and the ACS National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (ACS NSQIP®) as sustaining models of success.


  • Thomas A. Aloia, MD, FACS, assistant professor of surgical oncology, program director, AHPBA Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery Fellowship, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Kevin P. Lally, MD, MS, FACS, A.G. McNeese Chair in Pediatric Surgery, Richard Andrassy Distinguished Professor, professor and chairman, department of pediatric surgery, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston; surgeon-in-chief, Children’s Memorial Hermann Hospital
  • Kenneth L. Mattox, MD, FACS, distinguished service professor, Michael E. DeBakey department of surgery, Baylor College of Medicine; chief of staff/chief of surgery, Ben Taub General Hospital
  • Taylor S. Riall, MD, PhD, FACS, John Sealy Distinguished Chair in Clinical Research, director, Center for Comparative Effectiveness and Cancer Outcomes, associate professor, Department of surgery, University of Texas Medical Branch
  • M. Michael Shabot, MD, FACS, FCCM, FACMI, system chief medical officer, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System
  • Richard E. Wainerdi, PE, PhD, president and chief executive officer, Texas Medical Center

For more information, read the ACS news release about the Houston forum or e-mail

Event Program

Event Videos