American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Commission on Cancer State Chair Contact List

The CoC State Chair in your state is your point of contact for information about the CoC. As a resource, CoC State Chairs are available to:

  • Serve as faculty to present information on what's new at the CoC
  • Share information on how to become a Cancer Liaison Physician and speak about the role of the Cancer Liaison Physician
  • Assist with the selection of an appropriate individual for appointment as a Cancer Liaison Physician
  • Organize a meeting of state and local cancer control agencies to coordinate activities
  • Provide assistance to programs who need help meeting certain standards for program accreditation
  • Describe the benefits of Commission on Cancer accreditation to interested institutions
  • Provide tips on how to start a cancer program
  • Assist with interpretation and use of National Cancer Database data for quality improvement

To locate the CoC State Chair in your area, choose the appropriate state abbreviation listed below. Please note that the following states have more than one CoC State Chair based on the geographic distribution of Cancer Liaison Physicians within the state: CA, FL, IL, NY, PA, and TX.

AK | AL | AR | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI
ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS
MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR
PA | PR | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

Alabama
Sushanth Reddy MD, FACS
Vestavia Hills, AL
sreddy@uabmc.edu

Alaska
Sherry Johnson, DO
Anchorage, AK  
sjohnson@FarNorthSurgery.com

Arkansas
Jonathan Laryea, MBChB, FACS
Little Rock, AR
jalaryea@uams.edu

Arizona
Nitin Mishra, MBBS, FACS
Phoenix, AZ
mishra.nitin@mayo.edu

California (Northern)
Richard Bold, MD FACS
Sacramento, CA
rjbold@ucdavis.edu

California (Southern)
Howard Kaufman, MD, FACS
Pasadena, CA
hkaufman62@gmail.com

California (San Diego)
Jula Veerapong, MD, FACS
San Diego, CA
jveerapong@ucsd.edu

Colorado
Parth Shah, MD
Denver, CO
parth.shah@sclhealth.org

Connecticut
Jeanne Capasse, MD, FACS 
Norwalk, CT
jeanne.capasse@nuvancehealth.org

Delaware
Diana Dickson-Witmer, MD, FACS
Neward, DE
ddickson-witmer@christianacare.org

District of Columbia
Brian Bello, MD, FACS
Washington, DC
brian.l.bello@medstar.net

Florida (Zone A)
Jason Wilson, MD, MBA, FACS
Palm Harbor, FL
Jason.wilson@baycare.org

Florida (Jacksonville)
Ziad T. Awad, MD, FACS
Atlantic Beach, FL
ziad.awad@jax.ufl.edu

Florida (South)
Juan Paramo, MD, FACS
Miami Beach, FL
jparamo@msmc.com

Georgia
Maria Russell, MD, FACS
Atlanta, GA
maria.c.russell@emory.edu

Hawaii
Rebecca Sawai, MD FACS
Honolulu, HI
Rebecca.S.Sawai@kp.org

Idaho
Katie Fritz MD, FACS
Pocatello, ID
Katie.fritz@portmed.org

Illinois 
Kevin Lowe, MD, PhD, FACS
Urbana, IL
kmlowe2010@gmail.com

Illinois (Metropolitan)
Urjeet A. Patel, MD FACS
Chicago, IL
upatel3@cookcountyhhs.org

Indiana
Leonard Henry, MD FACS
Bristol, IN
lhenry@goshenhealth.com

Iowa
Ingrid Lizarraga, MD, FACS
Iowa City, IA
ingrid-lizarraga@uiowa.edu

Kansas
Jennifer McAllaster, MD, FACS
Topeka, KS
jenmcallaster@gmail.com

Kentucky
Alan P. Mullins, MD, FACS
Owensboro, KY
alan.mullins@owensborohealth.org

Louisiana
John M. Lyons III, MD, FACS
Baton Rouge, LA
John.Lyons@fmolhs.org

Maine
Richard E. Royal MD, FACS
Portland, ME
RRoyal@mmc.org

Maryland
Sara Fogarty DO, FACS
Towson, MD
sfogarty@gbmc.org

Massachusetts
Rocco Ricciardi MD, FACS
Boston, MA
RRICCIARDI1@mgh.harvard.edu

Michigan
David Kwon, MD, FACS
Detroit, MI
dkwon1@hfhs.org

Minnesota
Jane Hui, MD, FACS
Minneapolis, MN
jhui@umn.edu

Mississippi
Wayne Shannon Orr III MD, FACS
Ridgeland, MS
worr@umc.edu

Missouri
Eric T. Kimchi, MD FACS
Columbia, MO
kimchie@health.missouri.edu

Montana
David G. Sheldon, MD, FACS
Kalispell, MT
david.sheldon@mac.com

Nebraska
Quan Ly, MD, FACS
Omaha, NE
qly@unmc.edu

Nevada
James Brooks Harris, MD, FACS
Reno, NV
jharris@westernsurgical.com

New Hampshire
Roshani Raman Patel, MD
Manchester, NH
roshani1997@aol.com

New Jersey
Nell Maloney-Patel, MD, FACS
New Brunswick, NJ
malonene@rwjms.rutgers.edu

New Mexico
Bridget N. Fahy, MD, FACS
Albuquerque, NM
BFahy@salud.unm.edu

New York
Shubhada Dhage, MD, FACS
New York, NY
shubhada.dhage@nyumc.org

Jamal Rahaman MBBS, FACS
New York, NY
jamal.rahaman@mssm.edu

New York (Brooklyn-Long Island)
Susan He Lee, MD, FACS
New York, NY
susanlee923@gmail.com

New York (Eastern-Long Island)
Paula Denoya, MD FACS
Stony Brook, NY
paula.denoya@stonybrookmedicine.edu

New York (Manhattan Council)
Maria Teresa Castaldi, MD, FACS
Bronx, NY
maria.castaldi@nbhn.net

North Carolina
Richard White, MD FACS
Charlotte, NC
richard.white@carolinashealthcare.org

North Dakota
Daniel Tuvin, MD FACS
Fargo, ND
dtuvin@gmail.com

Ohio
James Robert Ouellette, DO, FACS
Kettering, OH
james.ouellette@wright.edu

Michael Duke Sarap, MD FACS
Cambridge, OH
msarap@msn.com

Oklahoma
Ajay Jain, MD, FACS
Oklahoma City, OK
Ajay-Jain@ouhsc.edu

Oregon
Vassiliki Liana Tsikitis, MD, FACS
Portland, OR
tsikitis@ohsu.edu

Pennsylvania (Keystone)
Joseph Blansfield, MD, FACS
Danville, PA
jblansfield1@geisinger.edu

Pennsylvania (Metro Philly)
Jeffrey Farma, MD, FACS
Philadelphia, PA
Jeffrey.Farma@fccc.edu

Pennsylvania (Southwestern)
James McCormick, MD, FACS
Pittsburgh, PA
james.mccormick@ahn.org

Puerto Rico
Ignacio Echenique, MD, FACS
Guaynabo, PR
liegio@yahoo.com

Rhode Island
R. James Koness, MD, FACS
Providence, RI
JKoness@chartercare.org

South Carolina
Andrea M. Abbott, MD, FACS
Charleston, SC
abbottan@musc.edu

South Dakota
Thavam Chenthan Thambi-Pillai, MBBCh, FACS
Sioux Falls, SD
thavam.thambi-pillai@sanfordhealth.org

Tennessee
James Martin McLoughlin, MD FACS
Knoxville, TN
jmcloughlin@utmck.edu

Texas (North)
Scott Celinski, MD, FACS
Dallas, TX
drcelinski@hotmail.com

Texas (South)
Alberto Pena, MD, FACS
Edinburg, TX
albertopenamdpa@yahoo.com 

Utah
John Hyngstrom, MD FACS
Salt Lake City, UT
jhyngstrom@gmail.com

Vermont
Vacant

Virginia
David Luyimbazi, MD, FACS
Roanoke, VA
luyidavid75@vt.edu

Washington
Peter Wu, MD FACS
Sammamish, WA
pcwu@uw.edu

West Virginia
Michael Elmore, MD FACS
Scott Depot, WV
mselmore@hsc.wvu.edu

Wisconsin
Amanda Kong, MD FACS
Milwaukee, WI
akong@mcw.edu

Wyoming
David G. Sheldon, MD, FACS
Kalispell, MT
david.sheldon@mac.com

 

State Chair Resources

Cancer Liaison Program