American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

SSC Women's Committee

(Pictured left to right) Sharmila Dissanaike, MBBS, FACS; Katherine Kelley, MD; and Lillian S. Kao, MD, FACS

(Pictured left to right) Kate Masschelein, ETHICON, and Anne C. Mosenthal, MD, FACS, SSC Women's Committee Chair

(Pictured left to right) Mary McCarthy, MD, FACS; Julie Freischlag, MD, FACS; and Janet Tuttle-Newhall, MD, FACS

On Wednesday April 19, 2017, at the Union League of Philadelphia the SSC Women's Committee held a day-long leadership symposium—supported by WLI ETHICON and the ACS Foundation—for 40 women surgeons.

Read more


The purpose of the Society of Surgical Chairs (SSC) Women's Committee is to advance the leadership and impact of women in academic surgery. The SSC Women's Committee is composed of women chairs of surgery in the U.S. and Canada and is committed to advancing professional development and success of women in academic surgery and enriching diversity and achieving gender equity as leaders in surgery.

Pictured (all FACS) left side, front to back: Sharmila Dissanaike, MD; Melina R. Kibbie, MD; Omaida C. Velazquez, MD; Julie A. Freischlag, MD. Right side, front to back: Heidi Nelson, MD; Leigh A. Neumayer, MD; Anne C. Mosenthal, MD; Patricia L. Roberts, MD