American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

George H. A. Clowes, Jr., MD, FACS, Memorial Research Career Development Award

The George H. A. Clowes, Jr., award is offered through the generosity of The Clowes Fund, Inc., of Indianapolis, IN. Its purpose is to provide support for the research of a promising young surgical investigator. The award consists of a stipend of $45,000 for each of five years and is not renewable thereafter.

Award Requirements

  • The award is restricted to a Fellow or Associate Fellow of the College who has completed an accredited residency in general surgery within the preceding seven years and has received a full-time faculty appointment at a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education in the United States or by the Committee for Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools in Canada. The applicant’s academic appointment may not be above the level of assistant professor. Applicants should provide evidence (by publication or otherwise) of productive initial efforts in laboratory research.
  • The award may be used for salary support or other purposes at the discretion of the recipient and the institution. Indirect costs are not paid to the recipient or to the recipient’s institution.
  • The American College of Surgeons Scholarships Committee will look preferentially upon applicants who have received investigator-initiated, peer-reviewed, federally funded research awards (for example, NIH R01/K08/K23, VA Merit Review, and Canadian Institutes of Health Research grants). The committee will not consider applicants who have already received research career development-type awards from professional societies. It is the responsibility of the recipient to notify the College’s Scholarships Administrator to request approval if another source of scholarship or fellowship funding is received.
  • Approval of the application is required from the administration (dean or fiscal officer) and the head of the applicant’s department or administrative unit. This approval includes a commitment to continuation of the academic position and facilities for research during the entire period of the award. In addition, it must be assured that at least 50 percent of the applicant’s time will be spent in the research proposed in the application. This percentage may run concurrently with the time requirements of NIH or other accepted funding.
  • In addition to the application form, the applicant must submit NIH-style biosketches for himself and any other participants, a detailed research plan up to eight (8) pages in length and propose a budget for the five-year period of the award. The applicant also is required to submit a cover letter of no more than one page describing the career objectives, how these career objectives will be achieved, and how the research protocol furthers the applicant’s career development. A letter of recommendation from the applicant's department chair is also required.
  • The Scholarships Committee of the College requires an annual narrative and financial progress report from the recipient, on which annual renewal of the award is based.
  • While holding the award, the recipient is required to attend the Clinical Congress of the American College of Surgeons in 2017, 2019, and 2021 and present reports to the Scholarships Committee and its guests.
  • Upon completion of the five-year funding period, the recipient will be required to submit a final narrative and financial report summarizing research progress and providing information regarding current academic rank, sources of research support, and future plans. The recipient is also required to apply to the Surgical Forum at the conclusion of his or her award period.

Previous Awardees

Timothy R. Billiar, 1992–1997
Robert Udelsman, 1993–1998
William G. Cance, 1994–1999
Jeffrey B. Matthews, 1995–2000
Ronald J. Weigel, 1996–2001
Martin E. Gleave, 1997–2002
Paul C. Kuo, 1998–2003
David A. Geller, 1999–2004
J. Perren Cobb, 2000–2005
Matthias G. Stelzner, 2001–2006
Robert A. Montgomery, 2002–2007
Bhuvanesh Singh, 2003–2008
Herbert Chen, 2004–2009
Sarah P. Thayer, 2005–2010
Yolanda L. Colson, 2006–2011
Mark R. Hemmila, 2006–2011
Alicia M. Mohr, 2007–2012
Mitchell Jay Cohen, 2008–2013
J. Jason Hoth, 2009–2013
Jon D. Simmons, MD, FACS,  2014–2019
Ankush Gosain, MD, FACS, 2015–2020

The closing date for receipt of completed applications and all related documents was August 3, 2015.

Requirements (PDF)

Apply Online

Conflicts of Interest Disclosure Form (DOC)

Additional documents and questions are to be directed to the Scholarships Administrator: or Scholarships Administrator, American College of Surgeons, 633 N. Saint Clair St., Chicago, IL 60611-3211.