American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

News from the American College of Surgeons

2018 Clinical Congress
October 21-25, 2018

Devin Rose
Dan Hamilton


Honorary Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons is Awarded to 12 Prominent Surgeons

BOSTON (Monday, October 22, 2018; 12:01 am EDT): Last night Honorary Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons (ACS) was awarded to 12 prominent surgeons from around the world at the Boston Convention Center.  The Honorary Fellowships were presented at the Convocation, which preceded the opening of the annual ACS Clinical Congress, one of the largest educational meetings of surgeons in the world. This year's recipients were:

Roger M. Greenhalgh, MD, MA, MChir, FRCS
London, England
Dr. Greenhalgh is emeritus professor of surgery and head of the vascular surgery research group at Imperial College, London.

John M. Hutson, AO, BS, MD(Monash), MD, DSc(Melb), FRACS, FAAP(Hon), FCAPS(Hon)
East Malvern, Australia
Dr. Hutson is chair of pediatric surgery at the University of Melbourne and a joint group leader for the surgical research group at Murdoch Children's Research Institute, Parkville, Australia.

Jakob R. Izbicki, MD, PhD, FACS
Hamburg, Germany
Dr. Izbicki is professor and chair of the department of general, visceral, and thoracic surgery at the University of Hamburg.

Daniel Jaeck, MD, PhD, FRCS
Strasbourg, France
Dr. Jaeck is professor emeritus of surgery at the University of Strasbourg.

Lars A. Lidgren, MD, PhD, FRCS(Hon), AAOS(Hon)
Lund, Sweden
Dr. Lidgren is senior professor in the department of orthopedics and clinical sciences at Lund University, Sweden.

Takeshi Miyano, MD, PhD, FACS
Tokyo, Japan
Dr. Miyano is former professor and head of the department of pediatric surgery at Juntendo University Hospital, and former director of Juntendo University Nerima Hospital, Tokyo.

Franco Mosca, MD, PhD, FACS, FRCSEd(Hon), ASA(Hon) Polish Association of Surgeons(Hon)
Pisa, Italy
Dr. Mosca is professor emeritus of general surgery at the University of Pisa.

Anthony R. Mundy, MB BS, PhD(Hon), MS, FRCP, FRCS
London, England
Dr. Mundy is professor of urology; consultant urological surgeon; and medical director for quality and safety, research and development, and education and training at University College London Hospitals.

Akimasa Nakao, MD, PhD, FACS
Nagoya, Japan
Dr. Nakao is professor emeritus at Nagoya University and president of Nagoya Central Hospital.

Samir Rasslan, MD, Dr(hc), FACS
São Paulo, Brazil
Dr. Rasslan is current professor and former chair of the department of surgery at São Paulo University School of Medicine.

Tania Maria Sih, MD, PhD
São Paulo Brazil
Dr. Sih is a professor at Medical School University of São Paulo, and general secretary and founder of the Interamerican Association of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology.

Selman Uranues, MD, Dr(hc), FACS, FEBS
Graz, Austria
Dr. Uranues is professor and head of the section for surgical research and the clinical division for general surgery in the department of surgery at the Medical University of Graz.

Presenting the Honorary Fellowships last night on behalf of the College was Barbara Lee Bass, MD, FACS, FRCS (Hon). The ACS sponsoring Fellows who nominated the Honorary Fellows included Michel S. Makaroun, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, Penn.; Mary E. Fallat, MD, FACS, Louisville, Ky.; Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS, Weston, Fla; Craig A. Miller, MD, FACS, Hendersonville, N.C.; Bruce D. Browner, MD, MHCM, FACS, FAOA, Mebane, N.C.; Marshal Z. Schwartz, MD, FACS, FRCSEng(Hon), Philadelphia, Penn.; Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS, New York, N.Y.; Jack W. McAninch, MD, FACS, San Francisco, Calif.; LaMar S. McGinnis, Jr., MD, FACS, Atlanta, Ga.; Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS, Seattle, Wash.; Mark C. Weissler, MD, FACS, Chapel Hill, N.C.; and George C. Velmahos, MD, PhD, MSEd, FACS, Boston, Mass.

Another highlight during the Convocation was the awarding of Fellowship in the American College of Surgeons to surgeons from around the world.  Fellowship is awarded to surgeons whose education and training, professional qualifications, surgical competence, and ethical conduct have passed a rigorous evaluation and have been found to be consistent with the high standards established and demanded by the College. During this year's ceremony, 1,971 surgeons were admitted into Fellowship. Sir Rickman Godlee, President of the Royal College of Surgeons of England, was awarded the first Honorary Fellowship in the ACS during the College's first Convocation in 1913. Since then, 472 internationally prominent surgeons, including the 12 chosen this year, have been named Honorary Fellows of the American College of Surgeons.

"FACS" designates that a surgeon is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons.

# # #

About the American College of Surgeons
The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and improve the quality of care for all surgical patients. The College is dedicated to the ethical and competent practice of surgery. Its achievements have significantly influenced the course of scientific surgery in America and have established it as an important advocate for all surgical patients. The College has more than 80,000 members and is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. For more information, visit

Editor's Note: Full citations and photos of each Honorary Fellow are available from the ACS Office of Public Information.  Email: