American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

National Tutorial Seminars for Medical Students

National Tutorial Seminars for Medical Students

The American College of Surgeons Division of Education is delighted to launch a series of online seminars called the National Tutorial Seminars for Medical Students. These online tutorial seminars are based on the content of the ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum and conducted by expert faculty in various surgical specialties. They highlight the foundational principles of surgery and are targeted for students in their core surgical clerkships. 

Registration is required for each topic and available at no charge. Please sign up based on your schedule and attend the topics of your choice.

Please note: Medical students should view the introductory materials prior to attending their first seminar. 

Dr. Ajit Sachdeva
Director, Division of Education

Dr. Ranjan Sudan
Project Lead

Basic Surgical Management of the Surgical Patient

Acid/Base Balance

Monday, July 6 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Cory Vatsaas, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Fluids/Electrolytes

Wednesday, July 8 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Cory Vatsaas, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Perioperative Care

Thursday, July 9 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Nancy Gantt, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Postoperative Care

Monday, July 13 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Roy Phitayakorn, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Vomiting, Diarrhea, and Constipation

Wednesday, July 15 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Jeremy Lipman, MD, MHPE, FACS, FASCRS
Watch the recording

Nutrition

Thursday, July 16 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Andrew Kastenmeier, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Shock

Monday, July 20 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Noelle Saillant, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Trauma I: Initial Trauma Evaluation

Wednesday, July 22 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Marc de Moya, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Trauma II: Diagnosis and Management

Thursday, July 23
Marc de Moya, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Abdomen

Abdominal Wall/Groin Masses

Monday, July 27 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Daniel Guerron, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Abdominal Pain

Wednesday, July 29 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Leonard K. Welsh, MD
Watch the recording

Gastrointestinal Hemorrhage

Wednesday, August 19
Ranjan Sudan, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Intra-Abdominal and Retroperitoneal Masses

Monday, August 3 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Adnan Alseidi, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Perianal Problems

Wednesday, August 5 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Jeremy Lipman, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Jaundice

Thursday, August 6 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Mohsen Shabahang, MD, PhD, FACS
Watch the recording

Non-Cardiac Chest Pain

Monday, August 10 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Stephen C. Yang, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Specialty-Specific Topics

Breast

Wednesday, August 12 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Laura Rosenberger, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Skin and Soft Tissue Lesions

Thursday, August 13 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Paula Termuhlen, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

Endocrine

Monday, August 17 | 7:00–8:00 pm (Central)
Abbey Fingeret, MD, FACS
Watch the recording

 

Contact Us

For additional information about the National Tutorial Seminars for Medical Students, please contact us at: MSResCurricula@facs.org.

Kim Echert
Senior Manager, Programs to Enhance Resident and Medical Student Education
kechert@facs.org
312-202-5488

Krashina Hudson
Administrator, Resident and Medical Student Curricula
khudson@facs.org
312-202-5335