American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Contact ACS Division of Education

Division of Education
633 N Saint Clair Street
Chicago, IL 60611
312-202-5000

Division Director

Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC
312-202-5405
asachdeva@facs.org

Michelle Padilla
Executive Associate
312-202-5297
mpadilla@facs.org

Associate Director

Patrice Gabler Blair, MPH
312-202-5220
pblair@facs.org

Margaret Morier
Executive Associate
312-202-5119
mmorier@facs.org

 

Accreditation, Verification, and Credentialing | ACS-Accreditation Education Institutes (AEI) | Clinical Congress | Distance Education & E-Learning | Educational Administration and Special Programs | Publications | Resident and Medical Education | Surgical Education and Self-Assessment Program (SESAP®) | Surgical Patient Education

Accreditation, Verification, and Credentialing

Staff

Responsibilities

Alisa Nagler, JD, EdD
Assistant Director for Accreditation, Validation, and Credentialing
312-202-5438
anagler@facs.org

Program for Accreditation, Validation, and Credentialing

Jim Reeder
Senior Manager, Validation and Credentialing
312-202-5559
jreeder@facs.org

Program for Validation and Credentialing, MyCME Program, CME Events Calendar

Meghan Duckworth
Administrator, Validation and Credentialing
312-202-5743
mduckworth@facs.org

Program for Validation and Credentialing, MyCME Program

Candice Gillett
Administrator, Continuous Professional Development Accreditation
312-202-5697
cgillett@facs.org

CME Accreditation, Continuous Professional Development, CME Internet and Enduring Materials

Kathleen Goldsmith
Senior Manager, Continuous Professional Development Accreditation
312-202-5212
kgoldsmith@facs.org

CME Accreditation, Continuous Professional Development, Joint Providership Program

Thomas Jones
Program Administrator, MyCME Program
312-202-5367
tjones@facs.org

Program for Validation and Credentialing, MyCME Program

Amanda Morrone
Administrator, Continuous Professional Development Accreditation
312-202-5427
amorrone@facs.org

CME Accreditation, Continuous Professional Development, Joint Providership Program

Susan Newman
Administrator, Academy and Certification Program
312-202-5771
snewman@facs.org

ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators and Certification Program for Surgical Education

Suvina Sallan
Administrator, Continuous Professional Development Accreditation
312-202-5517
ssallan@facs.org

CME Accreditation, Continuous Professional Development, Joint Providership Program

ACS-Accreditation Education Institutes (AEI)

Staff

Responsibilities

Kathleen A. Johnson, EdM
Assistant Director, ACS Program for Accreditation of Education Institutes
312-202-5276
kjohnson@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Gyusung Lee
Assistant Director, Simulation-based Education and Training
312-202-5782
glee@facs.org

Simulation-based Education and Training Programs

Amy Johnson
Program Coordinator
312-202-5415
ajohnson@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Catherine Wojcik
Manager, ACS Program for Accreditation of Education Institutes
312-202-5535
cwojcik@facs.org

ACS-Accredited Education Institutes

Clinical Congress

Staff

Responsibilities

Richard V. King, PhD
Assistant Director, Clinical Congress and Surgical Skills Courses
312-202-5433
rking@facs.org

Clinical Congress, Scientific Program and Surgical Skills Courses

M. Jane Burns, MJ(c)
Senior Manager, Clinical Congress Program
312-202-5742
mjburns@facs.org

Clinical Congress, Scientific Panel Sessions, Scientific Paper Sessions, Postgraduate Didactic Courses, Scientific Poster Presentations, Surgical Forum Program, Video-Based Education Program, ACS Video Library

Scott Miller, MEd
Senior Manager, Skills & Experiential Learning Courses
312-202-5266
smiller@facs.org

Clinical Congress Skills Courses, Exported Ultrasound Courses, National Ultrasound Faculty, Surgical Skills Courses, Verification of Knowledge and Skills Program

Gay Lynn Dykman
Administrator, Exported Ultrasound Courses
312-202-5262
gdykman@facs.org

Exported Ultrasound Courses, Regional Skills Courses, Verification of Knowledge and Skills Program

Britnee R. Gillis
Administrator, Video Based Education and Clinical Congress
312-202-5773
bgillis@facs.org

Video Based Education Programs, ACS Video Library

Kathryn Matousek
Administrative Assistant, Scientific Forum and Clinical Congress
312-202-5336
kmatousek@facs.org
SurgicalForum@facs.org

Special Sessions, Scientific Forum and e-Posters, Town Hall Meetings

Allison Stanis
Skills Courses Administrator
312-202-5593
astanis@facs.org

Surgical Skills Courses, Verification of Knowledge and Skills Program

Jana M. Stringfellow-Estell
Administrator, Program Committee and Clinical Congress Scientific Sessions
312-202-5385
jstringfellowestell@facs.org

Clinical Congress Program Committee, Named Lectures

Kenya Posley
Administrator, Didactic/Experiential and Clinical Congress Courses
312 202-5325
kposley@facs.org

Clinical Congress Didactic/Experiential Courses, Panel Sessions

Distance Education & E-Learning

Staff

Responsibilities

Olivier Petinaux, MS
Senior Manager, Distance Education and E-Learning
312-202-5375
opetinaux@facs.org

Webcasts and audio packages of Clinical Congress, distance education, and e-learning programs

Sangkhom Ratsavong
Administrator, Distance Education and E-Learning
312-202-5318
sratsavong@facs.org

Webcasts and audio packages of Clinical Congress, distance education, e-learning programs

Educational Administration and Special Programs

Staff

Responsibilities

Linda K. Lupi, MBA
Assistant Director, Educational Administration and Educational Scholarship
312-202-5354
llupi@facs.org

Steering Committee for Retraining and Retooling of Practicing Surgeons, Annual ACS Summit on Surgery Training, Future of General Surgery Training Committee, Committee to Enhance Peak Performance in Surgery, Program for Mastery in General Surgery, Committee on Residency Training, Committee on Education

Melanie T. Thorsen, MBAHC, CRA, CCMEP
Senior Manager, Continuing Education Programs and Lifelong Learning
312-202-5056
mthorsen@facs.org

Comprehensive General Surgery Review Course, General Surgery Review Course, Surgeons as Educators Course, Surgeons as Leaders Course, Maintenance of Certification Review: Essentials for Surgical Specialties, Surgical Education: Principles and Practice (SEPAP), Non-Technical Skills for Surgeons (NOTSS), Assessment of Preparation for Intern Readiness in Surgery (ASPIRES), Committee on Emerging Surgical Technology & Education (CESTE)

Priscilla Ludlow
Administrator, Educational Administration
312-202-5491
pludlow@facs.org

Committee to Enhance Peak Performance in Surgery through Recognition and Mitigation of the Impact of Fatigue

Rachel Williams Newman
Manager, Accreditation of Transition to Practice Program in General Surgery
312-202-5653
rnewman@facs.org

ACS Transition to Practice Program in General Surgery

Sara S. Hennings, PhD
Project Manager, Military Health System Strategic Partnership
312-202-5509
shennings@facs.org

Military Health System Strategic Partnership American College of Surgeons (MHSSPACS)

Melissa Gesbeck, PhD
Education Research Associate
312-202-5954
mgesbeck@facs.org

Continuous Professional Development; ACS Resident Masterfile; So You Want to Be a Surgeon

Ashley Nichols
Administrator, Structured Assessment of Surgical Skills
312-202-5018
anichols@facs.org

Innovative Skills Assessment Courses

Rachel Sass
Administrator, Team and Systems-based Programs
312-202-5686
rsass@facs.org

Surgeons as Educators Course

Cherylnn Sherman
Administrative Associate
312-202-5424
csherman@facs.org

Jameson L. Chassin Award for Professionalism in General Surgery, Surgery Resident Program, ACS Surgery Resident Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) DVD, Residents as Teachers and Leaders Course

Publications

Staff

Responsibilities

Lewis Flint, MD, FACS
Editor-in Chief, Selected Readings in General Surgery
Associate Editor, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5224

Selected Readings in General Surgery
ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery

Whitney Greer
Managing Editor, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5698
wgreer@facs.org

Selected Readings in General Surgery
ACS Case Reviews in Surgery

Sapna Dalal
Manager, Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery
312-202-5568
sdalal@facs.org

Evidence-Based Decisions in Surgery

Claire Sydow
Publication & Subscription Coordinator, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Case Reviews in Surgery
312-202-5227
csydow@facs.org

Selected Readings in General Surgery
ACS Case Reviews in Surgery

Resident and Medical Education

Staff

Responsibilities

Kim Echert
Senior Manager, Programs to Enhance Resident and Medical Student Education
312-202-5488
kechert@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum, ACS Surgery Resident Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) DVD, Surgeons as Educators Course, Residents as Teachers and Leaders Course, ACS/APDS Surgery Resident Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum, Surgery Resident Program, Medical Student Program, High School Program, Resident Award for Exemplary Teaching, Jameson L. Chassin Award for Professionalism in General Surgery

Tim Hotze
Education Technology Specialist
312-202-5032
thotze@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum, ACS/APDS Surgery Resident Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum

Krashina S. Hudson
Administrator, Resident and Medical Student Curricula
312-202-5335
khudson@facs.org

ACS/ASE Medical Student Core Curriculum, ACS/ASE Medical Student Simulation-Based, Surgical Skills Curriculum, ACS/APDS/ASE Resident Prep Curriculum, ACS/APDS Surgical Skills Curriculum, Residency Assist Page

Stephanie Hermes
Administrator, Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum
312.202.5171
shermes@facs.org

ACS Fundamentals of Surgery Curriculum

Katrina (Katie) McKenzie
Administrator, Educational Programs
312-202-5419
kmckenzie@facs.org

Medical Student Program, High School Program

Surgical Education and Self-Assessment Program (SESAP®)

Staff

Responsibilities

Chrysa Cullather
SESAP and Review Courses Medical Editor
312-202-5175
ccullather@facs.org

SESAP, review courses

Julia Dudek, MPH
Senior Manager, SESAP
312-202-5239
jdudek@facs.org

SESAP

Administrator, SESAP
312-202-5419
sesap@facs.org

SESAP

Surgical Patient Education

Staff

Responsibilities

Kathleen Heneghan, PhD, MSN, RN, PN-C
Assistant Director, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5352
kheneghan@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education

Nancy Strand, MPH, RN
Manager, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5566
nstrand@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education

Amanda J. Bruggeman
Program Coordinator, Surgical Patient Education
312-202-5263
abruggeman@facs.org

Surgical Patient Education