American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

States Altering Licensing Requirements at-a-Glance

The Certification, Validation, and Accreditation Section of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Division of Education has created a list of states that have altered license renewal schedules and/or Continuing Medical Education (CME) requirements as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The following information has been extracted from web pages of various licensing authorities for your convenience. If your state does not appear in the list below, it is because we have no information from your state at this time. The ACS encourages members to continue to check directly with their licensing board for additional COVID-19 updates.

State COVID-19 Emergency Response Altered License
Renewal Schedules and/or CME Requirements

ARIZONA

  • State of Arizona Executive Order 2020-17 defers requirements to renew licenses if the renewals cannot be completed online. Physicians are able to renew Arizona licenses online. There is no renewal extension for physicians at this time.

CALIFORNIA

  • Waiver of any CME or examination requirements for the renewal of licenses that expire from March 31, 2020, through June 30, 2020. Licensees will be allowed six months after the state of emergency declaration is lifted to make up these requirements.
COLORADO
  • A provider with an expired or lapsed license, registration, or certification may operate within a 60-day grace period without being subject to penalties or fines. Note: Medical professionals must be aware of reimbursement and liability concerns beyond the date of license expiration.

CONNECTICUT

  • If your license was active on or after March 30, 2020, your license will not expire during the COVID-19 civil preparedness emergency. You will be able to renew your license at any time now and during the six-month period following the date of the resumption of the renewal requirements

FLORIDA

  • The governor has directed all agencies to suspend licensing and renewal requirements for existing professional licenses for 30 days.

FLORIDA (DO)

  • The Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine waived the requirement for live, participatory attendance for certain continuing medical education credit hours.
  • Osteopathic physicians may complete the following continuing medical education requirements via distance learning: Florida Laws/and Rules; Professional and Medical Ethics; and, Prevention of Medical Errors.

GUAM

  • All licensing requirements, permits or fees required by law, rule, regulation for healthcare providers are waived and such waiver will continue in effect until the public health emergency terminates.

IDAHO

  • The 2020 spring license renewal period has been extended through October 2020.
  • During the COVID-19 response, the Board may waive or extend the time to complete CME credits required for licensure renewal.

ILLINOIS

  • The state has automatically extended licenses through September 30, 2020.

IOWA

  • All license renewal requirements and deadlines are suspended during the period of this health emergency. If a licensee had an active medical license on March 22, 2020, the expiration date will be automatically extended for the duration of this health emergency.
  • All requirements for in-person continuing medical education and all deadlines and other requirements for continuing medical education that are unable to be satisfied due to the health emergency, are suspended during the period of this health emergency. If a licensee is unable to complete the required continuing medical education required for renewal of their Iowa medical license due to the health emergency, they should note that on their next renewal application.

KANSAS

  • All state agencies shall extend renewal deadlines for any professional license that has or will expire during this disaster declaration and for 90 days after it expires.
  • The Kansas State Board of Healing Arts is granting extensions for CME deadlines.

LOUISIANA

  • General CME requirements and CME audits will be suspended for 2020, however, this does not apply to the 3 hour required CME on controlled dangerous substances for first time license renewal of authorized prescribers of CDS.

MAINE

  • The governor has issued an order that keeps licenses from expiring or needing to be renewed for 30 days after the end of declaration of the emergency (including CME requirements).

MARYLAND

  • All physicians whose licenses have or will come up for renewal during the State of Emergency, which was declared on March 5, 2020, shall have their renewal date extended until 30 days after the end of the Emergency.

MASSACHUSETTS

  • All physicians whose licenses have or will come up for renewal during the State of Emergency, which was declared on March 10, 2020, shall have their renewal date extended until 90 day after the end of the Emergency.
  • For the duration of this state of emergency, any physician with a CME requirement whose license is due for renewal on April 2, 2020 through and including December 31, 2020 will not be required to complete any CME requirement. Click to see Board of Registration in Medicine's interim policy on continuing medical education requirement.

MICHIGAN

  • Effective immediately and continuing through April 14, 2020 at 11:59 pm, the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) may renew a license to practice, regardless of whether the licensee has satisfied the continuing education requirement applicable to their license.
  • Effective immediately and continuing through April 14, 2020 at 11:59 pm, LARA may recognize hours worked responding to the COVID-19 emergency as hours toward continuing education courses or programs required for licensure.
  • The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs may renew a license to practice regardless of whether the licensee has satisfied the continuing medical education requirement.

MINNESOTA

  • The Minnesota health-related licensing boards are authorized to defer continuing education requirements until the first full reporting cycle following the termination of the peacetime emergency declared by Executive Oder 20-01.

MISSISSIPPI

  • The June 30, 2020 Continuing Medical Education (CME) requirement has been extended to December 31, 2020. Licensee will still be required to renew their licenses during the May 1 to June 30, 2020 renewal period.

NEBRASKA

  • Nebraska has deferred continuing competency requirements and license renewal fees until 30 days after the lifting of the COVID-19 state of emergency.
  • Licenses due to be renewed during the declared emergency will be extended until 30 days after the state of emergency is no longer in effect. Renewal notices will then be sent, and licensees will have 90 days to renew.

NEW MEXICO

  • Should providers find they are unable to complete required 75 CME's for renewal, an extension of 3 months can be provided upon request for an "emergency deferral." Licensees must petition the board prior to the renewal date for an "emergency deferral" if they find they cannot obtain the required number of CMEs.

NEW YORK

  • For licensees whose registrations are due to renew between March 1 and June 1, 2020, the Department will grant an adjustment to all licensees to complete up to 100% of the continuing education as self-study, so long as it is taken from a Department-approved provided and is in an acceptable subject area for the specific profession.

OHIO

  • Beginning immediately, the Medical Board will suspend enforcement of the continuing education requirements and the renewal of licenses issued by the State Medical Board of Ohio. This includes, but is not limited to, the requirement for Ohio physicians to obtain 50 hours of Category 1 CME at the time of license renewal. The exercise of the enforcement discretion is effective the March 9, 2020 and will apply to renewals due by March 1, 2021.
  • Licenses due to expire during the period of the COVID-19 emergency will not be required to be renewed until 90 days after the emergency expires, or December 1, 2020, whichever is earlier.

OKLAHOMA

  • The deadline for licenses due to expire between March 25 and April 30 has been extended to May 14, 2020. The month and day of the original expiration date will resume in 2021.

RHODE ISLAND

  • Medical licenses due to expire July 1, 2020, are granted a 90-day extension for renewal with no penalties or late fees.
  • Requirements for Continuing Education Units (CEU) for these licenses are also waived

TENNESSEE - Renewal Deadline Extension

TENNESSEE – CME Extension

  • The relevant provisions of Tennessee Code and related rules are hereby suspended to the extent necessary to extend the current expiration dates for health care professionals to renew their license, certificate, or registration set to expire between March 12, 2020, and the date on which this Order terminates for three (3) months, during which time the holder of each license may continue to legally operate or practice their profession. When each license is renewed, its new expiration date shall be twenty-four (24) months after the expiration date it had prior to this Order.
  • The provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated and related rules and policies are hereby suspended to the extent necessary to suspend the requirement that individuals complete or submit proof of completing continuing education requirements or otherwise demonstrate continuing competence as a condition of reinstating a license, certification, or registration. The Commissioner of Health shall reasonably extend the deadline for these requirements as necessary to respond to the effects of COVID-19.

TEXAS

  • The Texas Medical Board has automatically extended license and permit expiration dates through August 31, 2020 for physicians whose current permit expired/expires on February 28, 2020 or May 31, 2020.
  • The Continuing Medical Education related to this renewal extension will be waived.

UTAH

  • The requirement to participate in “live” CE hours is suspended for those with license expiration dates between now and September 30, 2020.

VERMONT

  • Vermont will allow a continuing medical education extension of up to 180 days and provide alternatives to face-to-face CME opportunities impacted by COVID-19. Online courses and training will be allowed. An extension will be granted if you are unable to complete your continuing medical education due to any of the following circumstances: The in-person CME activity was cancelled due to COVID-19; You feel your health may be at risk by attending an in-person CME activity due to the spread of COVID-19; and/or, You feel your health may be at risk by the required travel to attend an in-person CME activity due to the spread of COVID-19

VIRGINIA

  • If the licensee is unable to complete all of the required 60 hours of CME due to the COVID-19 crisis, he/she will indicate this at the time of license renewal. The licensee will then be asked to explain the reasons he/she was unable to complete the 60 hours (i.e. canceled courses). (Per 18VAC85-20-235, G)

WASHINGTON

  • The Continuing Medical Education requirement has been suspended until midnight on April 25, 2020.
  • License renewal requirements have been suspended until midnight on April 25, 2020.

WEST VIRGINIA

  • West Virginia has suspended the requirement that medical licenses are only valid for two years for the duration of the State of Emergency.
  • The state has also suspended the requirement that physicians biennially furnish proof of completion of 32 hours of CME prior to renewal.

WYOMING

  • The Wyoming Board of Medicine has adopted an emergency rule extending the current license expiration date of its licensees from June 30, 2020, to September 30, 2020.

If you have any questions, please contact Yekaterina Baker, MA, Senior Manager, Educational Verification and Credit Systems, Division of Education, at ybaker@facs.org.