American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Fellowship Committee


Mitchell H. Goldman, MD, FACS


Robert M. Sweet, MD, FACS


Rajesh Aggarwal, MBBS, PhD, FACS
Sanket Chauhan, MD
Edward Dominguez, MD, FACS
David R. Farley, MD, FACS
Denise Gee, MD, FACS
Nimesh D. Naik, MD
Ngan Nguyen, PhD, CHSE
T.K. Pandian, MD, MPH
Carla Pugh, MD, PhD, FACS
E. Matthew Ritter, MD, FACS
Robert M. Sweet, MD, FACS


Kathleen A. Johnson, EdM
Cathy Sormalis


The Fellowship Committee is responsible for the Standards and Criteria and the recommendation of accreditation for the Fellowship Program of the Consortium of American College of Surgeons Accredited Education Institutes (ACS-AEI). The Fellowship Program is a formal year-long fellowship in which young surgeons will work to develop, evaluate and deliver medical education curricula enhanced by simulation technologies. The Committee is charged with reviewing all applications received in order to formulate recommendations to accredit AEIs that offer Fellowship Programs. Once the recommendations are made by the Fellowship Committee, they are then sent to the Accreditation Review Committee for review, and at that time, accreditation decisions are made to accredit the Accredited Education Institutes that applied.


The goals of the Fellowship Program of the Consortium of ACS-Accredited Education Institutes are:

  1. To train scholars in the field of simulation-based surgical education and training
  2. To ensure that Fellows possess the requisite knowledge and skills to serve as local and national resources in the field of simulation-based surgical education and training
  3. To ensure the development of surgeons with a thorough understanding and knowledge in education theory in simulation and practice
  4. To train Fellows to serve as future leaders of simulation centers and to run an accredited Education Institute
  5. To enable Fellows through the use of their own resources to enhance the efficacy of their own programs
  6. To develop Fellows' expertise in simulation-based activities
  7. To ensure that Fellows are trained in developing and implementing major research and development projects involving surgical education and training, including the management of research grants.

If you have questions please contact Cathy Sormalis, AEI Manager, at or at 312-202-5535.