American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Leadership of the Academy

A steering committee was appointed by the ACS Division of Education to provide the overall direction for this program, develop the standards and criteria for induction, and define the range of activities of the Academy. The members of the Steering Committee of the ACS Academy of Master Surgeon Educators are:     


L. D. Britt, MD, MPH, DSc(Hon), FACS, FCCM, FRCSEng(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWACS(Hon), FRCSI(Hon), FCS(SA)(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon), MAMSE
Norfolk, VA

Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FACS, FRCSC, MAMSE
Chicago, IL


Sir Murray F. Brennan, GNZM, MD, FACS, MAMSE
New York, NY

Haile T. Debas, MD, FACS, FRCSC, MAMSE
San Francisco, CA

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS, MAMSE
Chicago, IL

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS, MAMSE
Philadelphia, PA

Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, MS, MBA, FACS, MAMSE
Jacksonville, FL

Carlos A. Pellegrini, MD, FACS, FRCSI(Hon), FRCS(Hon), FRCSEd(Hon), FWAC(Hon), MAMSE
Seattle, WA

Anton Nicholas Sidawy, MD, MPH, FACS, MAMSE 
Washington, DC


Patrice Gabler Blair, MPH
Chicago, IL


Alisa Nagler, JD, MA, EdD
Chicago, IL

Susan Newman, MPH
Chicago, IL