American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Contact Us

Division of Advocacy and Health Policy
20 F Street, NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20001
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
ahp@facs.org

Division Director

Christian Shalgian
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
cshalgian@facs.org

Medical Director, Quality and Health Policy

Frank Opelka, MD, FACS
fopelka@facs.org

Medical Director, Advocacy

Patrick Bailey, MD, FACS
pvbailey@facs.org

Legislative Affairs | Regulatory Affairs | State Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

D’Arcey Johnson
Office Manager
202-337-2701
djohnson@facs.org

Serves as the Washington Office Manager, prepares budgets, assists the DAHP Director, serves as ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC Administrator, and liaises with accounting services, building facilities, IT, and vendors

Kevin R. Walter
DC Communications Manager
202-672-1525
krwalter@facs.org

Communications Manager and Media Liaison for ACS Washington Office and the Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Kelly Wilkins
Staff Assistant
202-337-2701
kwilkins@facs.org

Provides staff support and office administration

Nicole Cloyd
Administrative Assistant to the Medical Directors
202-672-1531
ncloyd@facs.org

Provides administrative support to Medical Directors in Washington, DC, office

Regulatory Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Vinita M. Ollapally, JD
Regulatory Affairs Manager
vollapally@facs.org
202-672-1510

Manages privacy federal regulatory matters, including Medicare, HIPAA, EMTALA, graduate medical education, OIG issues, physician self-referral issues

Jill Sage, MPH
Quality Affairs Manager
jshelly@facs.org
202-672-1507

Represents national groups: JACHO, National Quality Forum, Leapfrog, AHA, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), surgical groups, and industry (innovations) and manages the Surgical Quality Alliance (SQA)

Sana Gokak, MPH
Quality Associate
sgokak@facs.org
202-672-1517

Assists in monitoring federal and private sector quality initiatives affecting the practice of surgery, PQRI, e-Prescribing incentives and surgical patient experience of care survey

Neha Agrawal, MPH
Regulatory Associate
Nagrawal@facs.org
202-672-1524

Provides staff support to AMA RUC; analyzes third-party payer policies/issues; monitors and develops strategic responses to regulations affecting surgeons including federal payment policies, healthcare reform implementation, and drug and device regulations

Sarah Kurusz
Practice Affairs Associate
202-672-1505
skurusz@facs.org

Liaises with CPT editorial panel, American Medical Association RVS Update Committee (AMA RUC), evaluation and management documentation guidelines, Assistants at Surgery (payment policies), HIPAA-transaction information, socioeconomic tips, CPT coding/practice management workshops and consultants, CPT hotline

Molly Peltzman, MA
Regulatory and Quality Assistant
mpeltzman@facs.org
202-672-1506

Performs administrative support to Regulatory and Quality Team in Washington, DC, office

Legislative and Political Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Sara Morse
Manager of Legislative and Political Affairs
202-672-1512
smorse@facs.org

Develops and implements the College’s federal health policy agenda, grassroots (SurgeonsVoice), and political (SurgeonsPAC) affairs. Serves as the organization’s chief lobbyist on several issues including Medicare physician payment, medical liability reform, graduate medical education (GME) and workforce, quality improvement, and scope of practice.

Matthew Coffron
Manager of Policy Development
202-672-1516
mcoffron@facs.org

Leverages College resources, data, and expertise in partnership with other ACS departments and divisions to develop proactive health policy proposals and facilitate development of official policy statements. Manages and participates in collaborations with external organizations with similar priorities.

Meg Gilley, MPH
Congressional Lobbyist
202-672-1509
mgilley@facs.org

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Heather Smith
Congressional Lobbyist
202-672-1502
hsmith@facs.org

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Vacant
Congressional Lobbyist

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Katie Oehmen
PAC Associate
202-672-1503
koehmen@facs.org

ACSPA-SurgeonsVoice and ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC


PAC-related questions can be sent to acspa@facs.org

Vacant
Legislative Assistant

Performs administrative support to SurgeonsVoice and the Legislative and Political Team in Washington, DC, office.

State Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Jon Sutton, MBA
Manager, State Affairs
202-672-1526
jsutton@facs.org

State legislation and policy, state action center, chapter lobby days, AMA House of Delegates and Surgical Caucus, AMA young physicians, scope of practice partnership

Tara Leystra, MPH
State Affairs Associate
202-672-1522
tleystra@facs.org

State health policy/legislative tracking, state-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, NCSL, chapter lobby days

Justin Rosen
State Affairs Associate
202-672-1528
jrosen@facs.org

State health policy/legislative tracking, state-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, NCSL, chapter lobby days