American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Contact Advocacy and Health Policy

Division of Advocacy and Health Policy
20 F Street, NW, Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20001
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
ahp@facs.org

Division Director

Christian Shalgian
202-337-2701
Fax: 202-337-4271
cshalgian@facs.org

Medical Director, Quality and Health Policy

Frank Opelka, MD, FACS
fopelka@facs.org

Medical Director, Advocacy

Patrick Bailey, MD, FACS
pvbailey@facs.org

Legislative Affairs | Regulatory Affairs | State Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

D’Arcey Johnson
Office Manager
djohnson@facs.org
202-337-2701

Serves as the Washington Office Manager, prepares budgets, assists the DAHP Director, serves as ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC Administrator, and liaises with accounting services, building facilities, IT, and vendors

Kevin R. Walter
DC Communications Manager
krwalter@facs.org
202-672-1525

Communications Manager and Media Liaison for ACS Washington Office and the Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Kelly Wilkins
Staff Assistant
kwilkins@facs.org
202-337-2701

Provides staff support and office administration

Danielle Lopez
Senior Administrative Assistant to the Medical Directors
dlopez@facs.org
202-672-1531

Provides administrative support to Medical Directors in Washington, DC, office

Regulatory Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Vinita M. Ollapally, JD
Regulatory Affairs Manager
vollapally@facs.org
202-672-1510

Manages privacy federal regulatory matters, including Medicare, HIPAA, EMTALA, graduate medical education, OIG issues, physician self-referral issues

Jill Sage, MPH
Quality Affairs Manager
jsage@facs.org
202-672-1507

Represents national groups: JACHO, National Quality Forum, Leapfrog, AHA, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), surgical groups, and industry (innovations) and manages the Surgical Quality Alliance (SQA)

Vacant
Quality Associate
202-672-1506

Assists in monitoring federal and private sector quality initiatives affecting the practice of surgery, PQRI, e-Prescribing incentives and surgical patient experience of care survey

Lauren Foe, MPH
Regulatory Associate
lfoe@facs.org
202-672-1524

Provides staff support to AMA RUC; analyzes third-party payer policies/issues; monitors and develops strategic responses to regulations affecting surgeons including federal payment policies, healthcare reform implementation, and drug and device regulations

Sadhana Chalasani
Regulatory and Quality Assistant
schalasani@facs.org
202-672-1517

Performs administrative support to the Regulatory and Quality Teams in the Washington, DC office

Practice Affairs
regulatory@facs.org
202-337-2701

Liaises with CPT editorial panel, American Medical Association RVS Update Committee (AMA RUC), evaluation and management documentation guidelines, Assistants at Surgery (payment policies), HIPAA-transaction information, socioeconomic tips, CPT coding/practice management workshops and consultants, CPT hotline

Legislative and Political Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Kristin McDonald
Manager of Legislative and Political Affairs
kmcdonald@facs.org
202-672-1512

Develops and implements the College’s federal health policy agenda, grassroots (SurgeonsVoice), and political (SurgeonsPAC) affairs. Serves as the organization’s chief lobbyist on several issues including Medicare physician payment, medical liability reform, graduate medical education (GME) and workforce, quality improvement, and scope of practice.

Matthew Coffron
Manager of Policy Development
mcoffron@facs.org
202-672-1516

Leverages College resources, data, and expertise in partnership with other ACS departments and divisions to develop proactive health policy proposals and facilitate development of official policy statements. Manages and participates in collaborations with external organizations with similar priorities.

Carrie Zlatos
Senior Congressional Lobbyist
czlatos@facs.org
202-672-1508

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Mark Lukaszewski
Congressional Lobbyist
mlukaszewski@facs.org
202-672-1509

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Justin Rosen
Congressional Lobbyist
jrosen@facs.org
202-672-1528

Lobbies Congress and implements the College’s health policy agenda.

Katie Oehmen
Manager, ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC and Grassroots 
koehmen@facs.org
202-672-1503

Serves as the primary liaison for all ACSPA-SurgeonsPAC fundraising and grassroots efforts. 

All PAC-related questions can be sent to surgeonspac@facs.org. Grassroots inquiries can be sent to ahp@facs.org.

Michael W. Carmody
Congressional Affairs Coordinator
mcarmody@facs.org
202-672-1511

Performs administrative support to SurgeonsVoice and the Legislative and Political Team in Washington, DC, office.

State Affairs

Staff

Responsibilities

Jon Sutton, MBA
Manager, State Affairs
jsutton@facs.org
202-672-1526

State legislation and policy, state action center, chapter lobby days, AMA House of Delegates and Surgical Caucus, AMA young physicians, scope of practice partnership

Christian Johnson
State Affairs Associate
christianjohnson@facs.org
202-672-1522

State health policy/legislative tracking, state-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, NCSL, chapter lobby days

Christopher Johnson
State Affairs Associate
cjohnson@facs.org
202-672-1502

State health policy/legislative tracking, state-level advocacy strategy development and training/workshops, state action center, state-level trauma and cancer advocacy, chapter advocacy development, NCSL, chapter lobby days