American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes


The American College of Surgeons (ACS) Division of Advocacy and Health Policy drives the national surgical quality improvement agenda. We define the principles of surgical patient quality measurement across settings, disseminate tools for quality improvement, develop and advocate for measures that accurately classify surgical care to improve patient outcomes, and promote the use of high-quality clinical data for quality measurement and reporting. We also work to coordinate quality improvement efforts among the surgical specialties and participate effectively as a key stakeholder to many national quality organizations.

Physician Quality Reporting System

Quality and Resource Use Reports

Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Program

Surgical Quality Alliance

Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems Surgical Care Survey

Measure Applications Partnership