American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Officers and Board of Regents

Current Board of Regents

Dr. Richardson

J. David Richardson, MD, FACS

General, thoracic, and trauma surgery
Professor of surgery and vice-chairman, department of surgery, University of Louisville School of Medicine
Louisville, KY

Dr. Maier

Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS

First Vice-President
Jane and Donald D. Trunkey Endowed Chair in Trauma Surgery, and professor and vice-chairman of surgery University of Washington (UW) Medicine
Seattle, WA


Dr. Pories

Walter J. Pories, MD, FACS

Second Vice-President
Founding chair, department of surgery; professor of surgery, biochemistry and kinesiology; and director, bariatric surgery research group East Carolina University
Greenville, NC


Edward E. Cornwell III

Edward E. Cornwell III, MD, FACS, FCCM

General surgery
The LaSalle D. Leffall, Jr. Professor and Chairman of Surgery, Howard University College of Medicine
Surgeon-in-Chief, Howard University Hospital
Washington, DC

William G. Cioffi, Jr.

William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS

General surgery
J. Murray Beardsley Professor and chairman, Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Surgeon-in-chief, Rhode Island Hospital and The Miriam Hospital
Providence, RI


Courtney M. Townsend, Jr., MD, FACS

Robertson-Poth Distinguished Chair in General Surgery, department of surgery, University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB)
Galveston, TX


Hilary Sanfey, MD, FACS

First Vice-President-Elect
General surgery
Professor of surgery and vice-chair for educational affairs, department of surgery; and associate director, Academy for Scholarship and Education, Southern Illinois School of Medicine, Springfield
Springfield, IL


Mary C. McCarthy, MD, FACS

Second Vice-President-Elect
General Surgery
Elizabeth Berry Gray Chair and Professor, department of surgery, Boonshoft School of Medicine, and adjunct graduate faculty, School of Engineering, Wright State University (WSU); and an acute care surgeon at Miami Valley Hospital
Dayton, OH

Valerie W. Rusch

Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS

Thoracic surgery
Vice-chair, clinical research, department of surgery; Miner Family Chair in Intrathoracic Cancers; attending surgeon, thoracic service, department of surgery, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; and professor of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College
New York, NY

Michael J. Zinner

Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS

General surgery
Moseley Professor of Surgery, Harvard Medical School
Clinical director, Dana-Farber/BWH Cancer Center
Surgeon-in-chief, Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA

John L.D. Atkinson

John L.D. Atkinson, MD, FACS

Neurological surgery
Professor of neurosurgery, department of neurological surgery, Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN


James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS

Adjunct Professor of Clinical Otolaryngology
Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery
University of Missouri School of Medicine
Adjunct Professor Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Alexandria, VA

Margaret M. Dunn

Margaret M. Dunn, MD, FACS

General surgery
Professor of surgery and executive associate dean, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine
Chief executive officer, Wright State Physicians
Fairborn, OH


Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS

General surgery
Bixby Professor of Surgery and chair of surgery; Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor and Director, The Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center; and surgeon-in-chief, Barnes-Jewish Hospital, Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO

James K. Elsey

James K. Elsey, MD, FACS

General and vascular surgery
Private practice
Visiting professor of surgery, Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA

Henri R. Ford

Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS

Pediatric surgery
Vice-president and surgeon-in-chief, Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles; and vice-chair and vice-dean for medical education, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California,
Los Angeles, CA

Gerald M. Fried

Gerald M. Fried, MD, FACS, FRCSC

General surgery
Adair Family Professor and chairman, department of surgery and surgeon-in-chief
McGill University Health Centre Hospitals
Montreal, QC, Canada

James Gigantelli

James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS

Professor of ophthalmology and assistant dean of government relations at the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha
Omaha, NE

B.J. Hancock

B.J. Hancock, MD, FACS, FRCSC

Pediatric surgery
Associate professor, departments of surgery and pediatrics and child health, University of Manitoba
Pediatric surgeon and pediatric interventionist, Children's Hospital of Winnipeg
Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Enrique Hernandez

Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS

Gynecology (oncology)
The Abraham Roth Professor and Chair, department of obstetrics, gynecology, and reproductive science; director of the division of gynecologic oncology; and professor of pathology, Temple University
Philadelphia, PA

Lenworth M Jacobs, Jr

Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, FACS

General surgery
Professor of surgery and chairman, department of traumatology and emergency medicine, University of Connecticut
Director, Trauma Institute at Hartford Hospital
Hartford, CT

L. Scott Levin

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS

Orthopaedic surgery
Paul B. Magnuson Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery, chair, department of orthopaedics, and professor of surgery, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; and plastic and reconstructive surgeon, University of Pennsylvania Health System
Philadelphia, PA

Mark A. Malangoni

Mark A. Malangoni, MD, FACS

General surgery
Associate executive director
American Board of Surgery
Philadelphia, PA

Leigh A. Neumayer

Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, FACS

General surgery
Professor and chair, department of surgery, University of Arizona, and Margaret and Fenton Maynard Endowed Chair in Breast Cancer Research, University of Arizona College of Medicine,
Tucson, AZ


Linda Goluch Phillips, MD, FACS

Plastic and reconstructive surgery
Truman G. Blocker, Jr., MD, Distinguished Professor and chief, department of surgery, division of plastic surgery; and professor, School of Medicine, University of Texas Medical Branch
Galveston, TX

Marshall Z. Schwartz

Marshall Z. Schwartz, MD, FACS

Pediatric surgery
Professor of surgery and pediatrics, Drexel University College of Medicine, Temple University School of Medicine, and surgeon-in-chief, St. Christopher’s Hospital for Children
Philadelphia, PA


Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS

Vascular surgery
Professor & Lewis B. Saltz Chair
Department of Surgery
George Washington University
Washington, DC

Howard M. Snyder III

Howard M. Snyder III, MD, FACS

Associate director of pediatric urology, The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Professor of urology, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Beth H. Sutton

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS

General surgery
Private practice, Wichita Falls, TX
Clinical professor of surgery, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School
Dallas, TX

Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS

Colorectal surgery
Chair, department of colorectal surgery, Cleveland Clinic Florida, Weston
Clinical professor of surgery and affiliate dean for clinical education, Florida International University, University Park
Affiliate professor and associate dean for academic affairs, Florida Atlantic University
Weston, FL

Board of Governors Executive Committee

Fabrizio Michelassi

Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS

Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor and Chair, Weill Cornell Medical College, department of surgery, and surgeon-in-chief, New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
New York, NY


Diana L.  Farmer, MD, FACS

Pediatric Surgery
Pearl Stamps Stewart Professor of Surgery, and chair, department of surgery, University of California Davis Health System
Sacramento, CA


Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS

General surgery
Henry & Sally Schaffer Chair & Professor
Department of surgery, Albany Medical Center
Albany, NY