American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery Award

2017 Recipient
SreyRam Kuy, MD, FACS

Dr. Kuy with Dr. Townsend

2016 Recipient
Mary Maniscalco-Theberge, MD, FACS

Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge with Dr. Richardson

Dr. Mary Edwards Walker

About the Award

The Dr. Mary Edwards Walker Inspiring Women in Surgery Award is named in honor of Mary Edwards Walker, MD (1832–1919), for her exemplary inspiration as the first female surgeon employed by the U.S. Army and the only woman ever to receive the Medal of Honor—the highest U.S. Armed Forces decoration for bravery. After the Civil War, Dr. Walker devoted her life to supporting women's suffrage and was a frequent lecturer on health care, temperance, and women’s rights. Most notably, Dr. Walker was unwavering in her commitment to service to her country and surgical profession, and repeatedly excelled in the face of significant adversity. Through Dr. Walker’s example of perseverance, excellence, and pioneering behavior, she paved the way for female surgeons of today.

Past Recipient(s)

2017—SreyRam Kuy, MD, MHS, FACS

2016—Mary E. Maniscalco-Theberge, MD, FACS