American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Honors Committee

The Honors Committee is a Regental Committee responsible for administering the following American College of Surgeons (ACS) honors and awards:

  • Honorary Fellowship (est. 1913)
  • Martin Memorial Lecture (est. 1946)
  • Distinguished Service Award (est. 1957)
  • Sheen Award (est. 1968)
  • Jacobson Innovation Award (est. 1994)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (est. 2010)

How to Nominate

The Honors Committee accepts nominations year-round for these honors and awards.

While the criteria for each award is different, a nomination requires:

  • A letter nomination
  • A current curriculum vitae, which includes a bibliography
  • A biography of the nominee
  • If applicable, a description of the innovation

Please send the nomination package to Staff Liaison Donna Coulombe at the contact information provided below.

Committee Leadership

Chair: Courtney M. Townsend, Jr., MD, FACS, Galveston, TX

ACS Staff

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS, Chicago, IL
Donna Coulombe, Chicago, IL

For more information about the Honors Committee or assistance with a nomination, please contact Donna Coulombe at or 312-202-5204.