American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

The mission of the Committee on Trauma is to improve all phases of the management of the injured patient including prehospital care and transportation, hospital care, and rehabilitation; to prevent injuries in the home, in industry, on the highway, and during participation in sports; to establish and implement institutional and systems standards for care of the injured; to provide education to improve trauma care; and to cooperate with other national organizations with similar objectives.

Committee on Trauma Roster

Committee on Trauma State Chairs

ACS Staff

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, Medical Director, Trauma Programs
Avery Nathens, MD, FACS, Medical Director, Trauma Quality
Jean Clemency

The Committee on Trauma welcomes your comments. Please write to the committee's staff liaison, Jean Clemency, at

Interested in joining a committee? E-mail