

President J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS, MCCM Winston-Salem, NC Immediate Past-President Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS

New York, NY President-Elect

Julie A. Freischlag, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC First Vice-President H. Randolph Bailey, MD, FACS, FASCRS

Houston, TX First Vice-President-Elect

Quan-Yang Duh, MD, FACS San Francisco, CA

Second Vice-President Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO

New York, NY Second Vice-President-Elect Richard A. Lynn, MD, FACS

Palm Beach, FL Secretary

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS Salina, KS

Treasurer

Don K. Nakayama, MD, MBA, FACS Chapel Hill, NC

Executive Director David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL

Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

BOARD OF REGENTS

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA

Vice-Chair Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCSEng, FRCSEd, FRCSI(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon) Weston, FL

Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC

John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN

Francoise P. Chagnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC

Annesley (AJ) W. Copeland, MD, FACS Washington, DC James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS

Alexandria, VA Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS

Saint Louis, MO

Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS Sacramento, CA

Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS Miami, FI

James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Huntington, WV

Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC Calgary, AB

Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS

New York, NY Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS Ann Arbor, MI

Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX

Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS Nashville, TN

Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS

Washington, DC Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Wichita Falls, TX

Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS David J. Welsh, MD, MBA, FACS

Batesville, IN Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS Iowa City, IA Vice-Chair Nancy Lynn Gantt, MD, FACS Youngstown, OH Secretary Andre R. Campbell, MD, FACS San Francisco, CA



Chicago Headquarters

633 N. Saint Clair Street Chicago, IL 60611-3295 Voice: 312-202-5000 312-202-5001

E-mail: postmaster@facs.org **Washington Office** 20 F Street, NW Suite 1000

Washington, DC 20001 Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: djohnson@facs.org

facs.org

March 2, 2021

The Honorable Dutch Ruppersberger U.S. House of Representatives 2206 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Adam Kinzinger U.S. House of Representatives 2245 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representatives Ruppersberger and Kinzinger:

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) is pleased to endorse and offer our support for H.R. 1260, the Bipartisan Solution to Cyclical Violence Act of 2021. This important legislation would increase funding to expand services and conduct research for hospital-based violence intervention programs (HVIPs).

Violence is a major public health issue that disproportionately affects our most vulnerable populations as well as people of color, contributing to health disparities. The ACS Committee on Trauma (COT) verifies over 500 trauma centers in the U.S., which provide care for traumatic injuries including interpersonal violence. For survivors of violence, repeat injury is exceedingly common, with studies revealing approximately 30% are injured again in the future. However, violence prevention services have been shown to improve patients' recovery and decrease the risk of reinjury. HVIPs have demonstrated success and value by mitigating the risk factors associated with violence and significantly reducing violent injury recidivism.

The ACS knows that preventing injuries is less costly than treating them and therefore we strongly support H.R. 1260, not only as a way to prevent violent injury, but also as a step toward the reduction of health inequities. We thank you for your leadership on this important issue.

Sincerely,

David B. Hyt

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS **Executive Director**