

Julie A. Freischlag, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC First Vice-President H. Randolph Bailey, MD, FACS, FASCRS

Houston, TX
First Vice-President-Elect

Quan-Yang Duh, MD, FACS San Francisco, CA

Second Vice-President
Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO

New York, NY Second Vice-President-Elect Richard A. Lynn, MD, FACS

Palm Beach, FL Secretary

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS Salina, KS

Treasurer
Don K. Nakayama, MD, MBA, FACS
Chapel Hill, NC
Executive Director

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

## **BOARD OF REGENTS**

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Vice-Chair

Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCSEng, FRCSEd, FRCSI(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon) Weston, FL

Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC

John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN

Francoise P. Chagnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC Annesley (AJ) W. Copeland, MD, FACS

Washington, DC James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS

> Alexandria, VA Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS

Saint Louis, MO Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS Sacramento, CA

Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS

James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Huntington, WV

Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC Calgary, AB

Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA

> Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS New York, NY Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS

Ann Arbor, MI Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX

Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS Nashville, TN

Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS Washington, DC

Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Wichita Falls, TX

Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD David J. Welsh, MD, MBA, FACS

Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

Chair
Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS
lowa City, IA
Vice-Chair
Nancy Lynn Gantt, MD, FACS
Youngstown, OH
Secretary
Andre R. Campbell, MD, FACS
San Francisco, CA



Chicago Headquarters 633 N. Saint Clair Street

Chicago, IL 60611-3295

Voice: 312-202-5000

Fax: 312-202-5001

E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

Washington Office
20 F Street, NW Suite 1000
Washington, DC 20001

Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: djohnson@facs.org

facs.org

May 13, 2021

The Honorable Brian Schatz U.S. Senate 722 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable John Barrasso, MD U.S. Senate 307 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Schatz and Barrasso:

On behalf of the more than 82,000 members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), I write in support of the *Ensuring Access to General Surgery Act of 2021* (S. 1593). This important legislation would direct the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), through the Health Resources Services Administration (HRSA), to study and define general surgery workforce shortage areas and grant the Secretary with the authority to provide a general surgery shortage area designation.

General surgeons are uniquely trained and solely qualified to provide certain necessary, lifesaving procedures, making them an essential element of a community-based health system. However, unlike other key providers, general surgeons do not currently have a formal workforce shortage area designation. A congressionally mandated 2020 report, conducted by HRSA, examined surgical shortage areas and found a maldistribution of the surgical workforce, with widespread and significant shortages of general surgeons, particularly in rural areas. The designation of formal surgical shortage areas would help address this critical workforce shortage.

The ACS strongly supports the *Ensuring Access to General Surgery Act of* 2021, which will help ensure access to high quality surgical care, regardless of geographic location. Thank you for your efforts and continued leadership on this issue. We look forward to working with you toward enactment of this important legislation.

Sincerely,

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS

David B. Hyt

Executive Director