American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

AIS 2005 and ICD-10 Transition

AIS 2005 (2008 Update) Transition

Beginning with January 1, 2016 admissions, the National Trauma Data Bank/Trauma Quality Improvement Program (NTDB/TQIP) will exclusively require AIS 2005 (2008 update, both “pre-dot” and “post-dot” codes) for AIS injury coding. Lack of AIS full coding or use of any other code system than AIS 2005 (2008 update) will result in file rejection.

This does not affect the NTDB Inclusion Criteria (as outlined in the NTDS Data Dictionary) for 2016 admissions.

ICD-10 Transition

Please plan to make the ICD-10 transition in accordance with the government deadline. To give hospitals ample time to convert from ICD-9 to ICD-10, we will continue to accept ICD-9-CM for hospital admissions through December 31, 2016. Beginning with January 1, 2017 admissions, we will no longer accept ICD-9-CM codes and any files submitted with ICD-9-CM coding will fail the Validator.

International centers must submit ICD-10 coding in the format native to the facility’s country. If your hospital is outside of the United States, please contact us for more details.

NTDB/TQIP has been equipped to accept submissions using ICD-10-CM codes for the past few years, but TQIP and NTDB will begin using patient data coded with ICD-10 for analysis starting with October 1, 2015 admissions in accordance with the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) deadline. As hospitals transition to this new version, NTDB/TQIP is also transitioning its database and reporting structures.

Please review the current data dictionary for more information on ICD-10 inclusion criteria and data elements affected by the transition.

For more information on our progress toward ICD-10, please bookmark and visit this page regularly.

ICD-10 Compliance for NTDB/TQIP

Coding Your Data

Please use one code set per patient record of data. If diagnosis codes are in ICD-10, then external cause codes and procedure codes should also be in ICD-10.

Data Elements to Review

The ICD-10 transition directly affects the following data elements:

  • Primary External Cause Code
  • Place of Occurrence External Cause Code
  • Additional External Cause Code
  • Hospital Procedures
  • Injury Diagnoses

Review any Validator flags in your detailed Validator report to discover potential problems with your ICD-10 implementation. Validator flags are defined in Appendix 2 of the NTDS Data Dictionary, “Edit Checks for the NTDS Data Elements.”

If you need assistance, please contact us at


NTDB/TQIP Transition to AIS 05 (08 Update) and ICD-10 FAQ

NTDS Data Dictionary

Abbreviated Injury Scale (AIS)

Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine


Centers for Medicaid & Medicare–ICD-10-CM resources

Canadian Coding for ICD-10