American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

National Safety Council Award

The purpose of the National Safety Council Distinguished Service to Safety Award is to recognize outstanding service to safety by surgeons or surgical organizations. The Surgeons' Award for Service to Safety is sponsored by the National Safety Council and nominated by the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma in odd-numbered years and the American College of Surgeons (ACS) Committee on Trauma in even-numbered years. The nomination is approved by both organizations before it is forwarded to the National Safety Council.


  • Strengthen the work of surgeons or surgical organizations by identifying and enhancing their emphasis on the interlocking problems of the prevention and restoration of accidental injuries
  • Strengthen the work of safety councils through the increased participation of surgeons in organized accident prevention activities
  • Continue progress in the development of criteria to ascertain the effectiveness of activities conducted for the prevention of accidents 

National Safety Council Award Nomination

Please note: This submission portal is only for the ACS COT nominations, and not the AAST nominations. While the COT will accept nominations at any time, we will only review these collected nominations in even years. For information on the nomination process for AAST during odd years, please contact the AAST Executive Director Sharon Gautschy at

Who Can Be Nominated

Individuals or organizations, that through their services or activities make outstanding contributions to the prevention of accidents, establish or demonstrate methods and results adaptable to other individuals or groups, or result in stimulating others to undertake or take part in safety projects or programs.

Who Can Nominate

All members of the National COT, Regional COT, past COT Chairs, and Scudder Orators as well as all Mentoring for Excellence in Trauma Surgery (METS) participants can nominate an individual for the National Safety Council (NSC) Award.

When to Nominate

Nominations for the National Safety Council (NSC) award will be accepted year-round. The nomination process will close annually on June 1 for the award that will be presented at the Clinical Congress that same year. 

How to Nominate

If you know someone who should be considered for the National Safety Council (NSC) award, please complete, and submit the nomination form and upload a full nomination letter detailing the nominee’s background, achievements, and significant or sustained contributions to the care of the injured patient. Nomination letters play a key role in the selection process of the National Safety Council (NSC) award, and the COT will not conduct additional research to determine the nominee’s eligibility for this prestigious award. A lack of detailed information will impede the selection process.

The National Safety Council Award is not restricted to surgeons working in the United States only. Nominations for surgeons working to advance safety around the world are welcome.

Fill out my online form.

Past Recipients

2020 Rochelle A. Dicker
2019 Mary E. Fallat
2018 Ronald I. Gross
2017 Charles N. Mock
2016 Deborah A. Kuhls
2015 Ronald V. Maier
2014 Glen H. Tinkoff
2013 Ronald M. Stewart
2012 John M Templeton (presented in 2013)
2011 David S. Mulder (presented in 2012)
2010 M. Margaret Knudson
2009 Martin R. Eichelberger
2008 C. William Schwab
2007 R. Carter Nance (presented in 2008)
2006 David R. Boyd
2005 Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr.
2004 Charles E. Lucas
2003 Norman M. Rich
2002 Charles Aprahamian
2001 C. James Carrico
2000 Charles C. Wolferth, Jr.
1999 F. William Blaisdell
1998 Norman E. McSwain
1997 H. David Root
1996 Barbara A. Barlow
1995 Gerald W. Shaftan
1994 John D. States
1993 George F. Sheldon
1992 Paul E. Collicott
1991 Basil A. Pruitt, Jr.
1990 J. Cuthbert Owens
1989 Donald D. Trunkey
1988 Alexander C. Hering
1987 Robert J. Freeark
1986 Carlton Mathewson, Jr.
1985 Fraser N. Gurd
1984 G. Tom Shires
1983 John E. Raaf
1982 C. Thomas Thompson
1981 Walter A. Hoyt, Jr.
1980 Henry C. Cleveland
1979 John H. Davis
1978 Robert W. Gillespie
1977 John A. Moncrief
1976 Sawnie R. Gaston
1975 Jack Wickstrom
1974 Curtis P. Artz
1973 Joseph D. Farrington
1972 Sam Banks
1971 William T. Fitts, Jr.
1970 Rudolph J. Noer
1969 John P. North
1968 Oscar P. Hampton, Jr.
1967 Paul Magnuson
1966 Isidore Cohn
1965 Preston A. Wade
1964 Harrison L. McLaughlin
1963 R. Arnold Griswold
1962 Robert H. Kennedy
1961 Charles G. Johnson
1960 George J. Curry