American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Established in 2004, the Commission on Cancer (CoC)’s Outstanding Achievement Award (OAA) is designed to recognize cancer programs that strive for excellence in demonstrating compliance with the CoC standards and are committed to ensuring high quality cancer care.

A CoC-accredited cancer program is eligible to earn the OAA after completing the accreditation survey and receiving a Performance Report that indicates an accreditation award of “Three-Year with Commendation.” Specifically, the program must receive commendation ratings for the seven commendation level standards and no deficiencies for the remaining 27 standards.

The current list of seven commendation standards:

  • Standards 1.9, 1.11, 1.12
  • Standards 2.1, 2.2
  • Standards 5.2, 5.6

OAA recipients represent a multitude of health care facilities, including community-based facilities, academic hospitals, integrated networks, pediatric hospitals, and freestanding cancer centers. New programs undergoing their initial survey and NCIP programs are not eligible to earn the OAA.

Recipients are identified in a CoC Source announcement following the confirmation of the accreditation awards for all programs surveyed at the end of the calendar year.

OAA Recipients


2017 part 2

2017 part 1

2016 part 2

2016 part 1

2015 part 2

2015 part 1