American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

State Chair Contact List

The Commission on Cancer (CoC), Cancer Liaison Program State Chair in your state is your point of contact for information about the COC. As a resource, State Chairs are available to:

  • serve as faculty to present information on What's New at the Commission on Cancer;
  • share information on how to become a Cancer Liaison Physician and speak about the role of the Cancer Liaison Physician;
  • assist with the selection of an appropriate individual for appointment as a Cancer Liaison Physician;
  • organize a meeting of state and local cancer control agencies to coordinate activities;
  • provide assistance to programs who need help meeting certain standards for program accreditation;
  • describe the benefits of Commission accreditation to interested institutions;
  • provide tips on how to start a cancer program;
  • assist with interpretation and use of National Cancer Data Base data for quality improvement;
  • and more...

To locate the State Chair in your area, choose the appropriate state abbreviation listed below. Please note that the following states have more than one State Chair based on the geographic distribution of Cancer Liaison Physicians within the state: CA, FL, IL, NY, PA, and TX.

AK | AL | AR | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI
ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS
MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR
PA | PR | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

 

Alabama
Helen Krontiras, MD, FACS
UAB Dept. of Surgery
510 20th Street South
FOT 1140
Birmingham, AL  35233
205-934-3028
205-975-5971 (fax)
hkrontir@uabmc.edu

Alaska
Danny Robinette, MD,  FACS
1275 Sadler Way
Suite 102
Fairbanks, AK  99701
907-451-6142
907-451-6284 (fax)
drrobinette@gmail.com

Arkansas
Jason S. Mizell, MD, FACS
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
4301 West Markham - Slot 520-1
Little Rock, AR 72205
501-686-6757
jsmizell@uams.edu

Arizona
Robert Krouse, MD, FACS
Southern Arizona VA Health Care
3601 S. 6th Avenue, 2-112
Tucson, AZ  85723
520-792-1450
robert.krouse@va.gov

California (Zone N)
J. Augusto Bastidas, MD
Suite 4
14981 National Avenue
Los Gatos, CA  95032
408-358-4747
408-358-4742 (fax)
drbastidas@natlsurg.com

California (Zone S)
Sharon S. Lum, MD, FACS
Suite 21111
11175 Campus Street
Loma Linda, CA 92354
909-558-4286
slum@llu.edu

California (Zone D)
Julie Lynn Barone, DO, FACS
1930 Ogden Street
Denver, CO
303-318-3580
Jbarone1@gmail.com

Colorado
Shawn E. Young, MD, FACS
1825 Marion St
Denver, CO 80218-1122
303-318-3464
Shawn.Young@sclhs.net

Connecticut
Amanda Stevenson Ayers, MD, FACS
73 Bonair Hill Road
Tolland, CT 06084
860-306-1277
aayers@colonrectalsurgery.com

Delaware
James Spellman, MD, FACS
Suite 205
18947 John J Williams Highway
Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
302-644-0964
302-644-0968 (fax)
spellman@dmv.com

District of Columbia
M. Blair Marshall, MD FACS
Georgetown University Hospital 4PHC
3800 Reservoir Road NW
Washington, DC 20007
1-202-444-5045 phone
mbm5@gunet.georgetown.edu

Florida (Zone A)
Christine Laronga, MD, FACS
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center
12902 Magnolia Drive
Suite 3157
Tampa, FL 33612-9497
813-745-8397
christine.laronga@moffitt.org

Florida (Zone J)
Carmine Volpe, MD, FACS
Department of Surgery
655 West 8th Street, Third Floor
Jacksonville, FL 32209
904-244-3294
904-244-3870 (fax)
carmine.volpe@jax.ufl.edu

Florida (Zone S)
Carlos A. Suarez, MD, FACS
4601 Ponce De Leon  Blvd., Ste 260
Miami, FL  33146
305-662-1630
casuarez@aol.com

Georgia
Arnold Michael Conforti, MD FACS
800 Spring Street
Macon, GA 31201
1-478-745-3363 phone
amcbass@aol.com

Hawaii
Richard Smith, MD, FACS
720 Kapiolani Blvd.
Unit 401
Honolulu, HI  96813
808-285-1765
Rsmith5874@yahoo.com

Idaho
VACANT

Illinois (Zone M)
VACANT

Illinois (Zone L)
Norman Estes, MD, FACS
Univ. of Illinois Col. of Med. at Peoria
624 NE Glen Oak Avenue, Ste. 2676
Peoria, IL 61603-3135
309-655-2383
309-655-3630 (fax)
nestes@uicomp.uic.edu

Indiana
Michael Geoffrey Moore, MD, FACS
11680 Bluefin Court
Indianapolis, IN 46236
317-363-3846
mgmoore@gmail.com

Iowa
Hisakazu Hoshi, MD
University of IA Hospitals and Clinics
200 Hawkins Drive, 4642 JCP
Iowa City, IA 52242-1009
319-356-1727
hisakazu-hoshi@uiowa.edu

Kansas
Joshua Mammen, MD
4000 Murphy Building MS 2005
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS  66160
913-588-0022
913-588-7540 (fax)
jmammen2@kumc.edu

Kentucky
Timothy William Mullett, MD, FACS
Univ. of Kentucky
740 South Limestone
Suite A301
Lexington, KY 40536
859-323-6494
timothy.mullett@uky.edu

Louisiana
Quyen D. Chu, MD, FACS
LSU Health Sciences Center
Shreveport, Dept. of Surgery
1501 Kings Highway
Shreveport, LA  71130
318-675-6123
qchu@lsuhsc.edu

Maine
Peter P. Huang, MD, FACS
Northeast Surgery PA
417 State Street, Suite 330
Bangor, ME 04401
207-947-5241
phuang@emhs.org

Maryland
Vinay Gupta
3333 North Calvert Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
410-261-8844
Vinay.Gupta@medstar.net

Massachusetts
Peter Scott Hopewood, MD, FACS
210 Jones Road, Suite 2-5
Falmouth, MA 02540
530-540-9771
530-540-3158 (fax)
peterhopewood@comecast.net

Michigan
Allen Silbergleit, MD, FACS
Suite 404
44555 Woodward Avenue
Pontiac, MI 48341
248-335-6433
Allen.Silbergleit@stjoeshealth.org

Minnesota
Richard Thomas Zera, MD, FACS
4956 Woodhurst Lane
Minnetonka, MN 55345
612-931-9018
richard.zera@hcmed.org

Mississippi
Pierre E. de Delva, MD, FACS
Dept of Cardiothoracic Surgery
2500 North State Street
Jackson, MS 39216
601-984-5176
pdedelva@umc.edu

Missouri
Theresa Lynn Schwartz, MD FACS
Desloge Tower - 3rd Floor
3635 Vista Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
314-268-5241
schwartzl@slu.edu

Montana
Jeffrey Rentz, MD, FACS
Suite 355-West
2900 - 12th Avenue North
Billings, MT  59101
406-238-6470
406-238-6499(fax)
jrentzmd@mac.com

Nebraska
Rudy Paul Lackner, MD, FACS
982315 Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE 68198-2315
402-559-4389
rlackner@unmc.edu

Nevada
James Brooks Harris, MD, FACS
75 Pringle Way
Suite 1002
Reno, NV 89502
jharris@westernsurgical.com 
775-323-7500

New Hampshire
Roshani Raman Patel, MD
Department of Surgery
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
100 Hitchcock Way
Manchester, NH 03104
603-695-2680
roshani1997@aol.com

New Jersey
Jarrod Kaufman, MD, FACS
2295 Maple Manor Court
Toms River, NJ 08755
732-262-1600
732-262-1606 (fax)
jarrod@premiersurgicalnj.com

New Mexico
VACANT

New York (Zone L)
Susan He Lee, MD, FACS
360 E. 55th Street, Apt. 7C
New York, NY  10022-4120
516-663-3300
516-663-2780 (fax)
susanlee923@gmail.com

New York (Zone U)
Leslie J. Kohman, MD, FACS
Suite 8140
750 East Adams Street
Syracuse, NY  13210
315-464-6304
kohmanL@upstate.edu

North Carolina
Thomas Eisenhauer, MD, FACS
Hendersonville Surgical Associates, PLLC
835 Fleming St.
Hendersonville, NC  28791
828-698-7230
828-698-0583 (fax)
tleisenhauer@att.net

North Dakota
Michael Bouton, MD, FACS
737 Broadway North
Route 36
Fargo, ND  58122
701-234-2251
michael.bouton@sanfordhealth.org

Ohio 
Michael Duke Sarap, MD, FACS
100 Clark Ct
Cambridge, OH 43725
740-432-5685
msarap@msn.com

James Robert Ouellette, DO, FACS
Kettering Medical Center
Wright State University
3535 Southern Boulevard
Kettering, OH 45429
937-395-8686
james.ouellette@wright.edu

Oklahoma
William C. Dooley, MD, FACS
419 NW 14th Street
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma City, OK  73103
405-206-5670
405-271-4443 (fax)
william-dooley@ouhsc.edu

Oregon
Paul Hansen, MD, FACS
Providence Portland Medical Center
4805 Northeast Glisan Street
Portland, OR  97213-2967
503-281-0561
503-416-7377 (fax)
phansen@orclinic.com

Pennsylvania (Zone K)
Darius Desai, MD
1600 St. Luke's Circle
Easton, PA 18045
484-503-4600
484-503-4672 (fax)
Darius.Desai@sluhn.org

Pennsylvania (Zone M)
Michael J. Walker, MD, FACS
Suite 210
830 Old Lancaster Road
Medical Office Bldg North
Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
610-527-1600
WalkerMic@MLHS.ORG

Pennsylvania (Zone S)
James McCormick, DO, FACS
204 Sunridge Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15238
412-457-0040
412-457-0050 (fax)
jmccorm1@wpahs.org 

Puerto Rico
Ignacio Echenique, MD, FACS
534 Tintillo Road
Tintillo Hills
Guaynabo, PR  00966
787-781-4600
787-296-0951 (fax)
liegio@yahoo.com

Rhode Island
R. James Koness, MD, FACS
Roger Williams Medical Center
Department of Surgery
825 Chalkstone Avenue
Providence, RI 02908
JKoness@chartercare.org

South Carolina
Ernest Ramsay Camp, MD, FACS
MSC 295 - Suite 7018
25 Courtenay Drive
Charleston, SC 29425
843-876-4420
campe@musc.edu

South Dakota
Wade Dosch, MD, FACS
4701 S. Lewis Avenue
Sioux Falls, SD 57103
605-336-2140
605-782-8392 (fax)
wade.dosch@avera.org

Tennessee
Martin Douglas Fleming, MD, FACS
910 Madison Ave Ste 303
Memphis, TN 38163
901-448-2919
Mflemin6@uthsc.edu

Texas (Zone N)
Subhasis Misra, MD, MBBS FACS
7810 Continental Parkway
Amarillo, TX 79119
1-806-354-5563 phone
subhasis.misra@ttuhsc.edu

Texas (Zone S)
Brian Richard Davis, MD, FACS
Department of Surgery
4800 Alberta Avenue
El Paso, TX 79905
915-545-6855
br.davis@ttuhsc.edu

Utah
Robert Andtbacka, MD
University of Utah
Huntsman Cancer Institute
1950 Circle of Hope, Ste. N6405
Salt Lake City, UT  84112
801-587-8808
801-585-3479 (fax)
robert.andtbacka@hci.utah.edu

Vermont
Ted A. James, MD, FACS
University of Vermont
Given Building B227
89 Beaumont Avenue
Burlington, VT 05405
802-656-5880
ted.james@uvm.edu

Virginia
Eric C. Feliberti, MD, FACS
Suite 610
825 Fairfax Avenue
Norfolk, VA 23507
757-446-8950
felibeec@evms.edu

Washington
Stephen Wesley Bayles, MD, FACS
Virginia Mason Medical Center
Dept of OTO/H&N Surgery
1100 9th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98111-0900
Stephen.Bayles@vmmc.org

West Virginia
Hannah Wright Hazard, MD, FACS
Health Sciences Center
One Medical Center Drive
PO Box 9238
Morgantown, WV  26506
304-293-7095
304-293-8881 (fax)
hhazard@hsc.wvu.edu

Wisconsin
Charles Cheng, MD, FACS
Fox Valley Surgical Associates
Suite 240 West
1818 N Meade Street
Appleton, WI 54911
920-731-8131
920-733-6769 (fax)
charles.cheng@thedacare.org

Wyoming
Jeffrey Rentz, MD, FACS
Suite 355-West
2900 - 12th Avenue North
Billings, MT  59101
406-238-6470
406-238-6499 (fax)
jrentzmd@mac.com

 

State Chair Resources

Cancer Liaison Program