American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

State Chair Contact List

The Commission on Cancer (CoC), Cancer Liaison Program State Chair in your state is your point of contact for information about the COC. As a resource, State Chairs are available to:

  • serve as faculty to present information on What's New at the Commission on Cancer;
  • share information on how to become a Cancer Liaison Physician and speak about the role of the Cancer Liaison Physician;
  • assist with the selection of an appropriate individual for appointment as a Cancer Liaison Physician;
  • organize a meeting of state and local cancer control agencies to coordinate activities;
  • provide assistance to programs who need help meeting certain standards for program accreditation;
  • describe the benefits of Commission accreditation to interested institutions;
  • provide tips on how to start a cancer program;
  • assist with interpretation and use of National Cancer Data Base data for quality improvement;
  • and more...

To locate the State Chair in your area, choose the appropriate state abbreviation listed below. Please note that the following states have more than one State Chair based on the geographic distribution of Cancer Liaison Physicians within the state: CA, FL, IL, NY, PA, and TX.

AK | AL | AR | AZ | AR | CA | CO | CT | DC | DE | FL | GA | HI
ID | IL | IN | IA | KS | KY | LA | ME | MD | MA | MI | MN | MS
MO | MT | NE | NV | NH | NJ | NM | NY | NC | ND | OH | OK | OR
PA | PR | RI | SC | SD | TN | TX | UT | VT | VA | WA | WV | WI | WY

 

Alabama
Paul F. Rider Jr., MD, FACS
Mobile, AL
prider@health.southalabama.edu

Alaska
Danny Robinette, MD, FACS
Fairbanks, AK 
drrobinette@gmail.com

Arkansas
Jason S. Mizell, MD, FACS
Little Rock, AR
jsmizell@uams.edu

Arizona
Robert Krouse, MD, FACS
Tucson, AZ 
robert.krouse@va.gov

California (Zone N)
J. Augusto Bastidas, MD, FACS
Los Gatos, CA 
drbastidas@natlsurg.com

California (Zone S)
Sharon S. Lum, MD, FACS
Loma Linda, CA
slum@llu.edu

California (Zone D)
Julie Lynn Barone, DO, FACS
Denver, CO
Jbarone1@gmail.com

Colorado
Shawn E. Young, MD, FACS
Denver, CO
Shawn.Young@sclhs.net

Connecticut
Amanda Stevenson Ayers, MD, FACS
Tolland, CT
aayers@colonrectalsurgery.com

Delaware
James Spellman, MD, FACS
Rehoboth Beach, DE
spellman@dmv.com

District of Columbia
M. Blair Marshall, MD, FACS
Washington, DC
mbm5@gunet.georgetown.edu

Florida (Zone A)
Christine Laronga, MD, FACS
Tampa, FL
christine.laronga@moffitt.org

Florida (Zone J)
Hank Curtis Hill, MD
Jacksonville, FL
hank.hill@jaxhealth.com       

Florida (Zone S)
Carlos A. Suarez, MD, FACS
Miami, FL 
casuarez@aol.com

Georgia
Arnold Michael Conforti, MD, FACS
Macon, GA
amcbass@aol.com

Hawaii
Richard Smith, MD, FACS
Honolulu, HI 
Rsmith5874@yahoo.com

Idaho
VACANT

Illinois (Zone M)
VACANT

Illinois (Zone L)
Lynn Jalovec, MD, FACS
Peoria, IL
lmjalovec@att.net

Indiana
Michael Geoffrey Moore, MD, FACS
Indianapolis, IN
mgmoore@gmail.com

Iowa
Hisakazu Hoshi, MD, FACS
Iowa City, IA
hisakazu-hoshi@uiowa.edu

Kansas
Joshua Mammen, MD, FACS
Kansas City, KS
jmammen2@kumc.edu

Kentucky
Timothy Mullett, MD, FACS
Lexington, KY
timothy.mullett@uky.edu

Louisiana
Quyen D. Chu, MD, FACS
Shreveport, LA
qchu@lsuhsc.edu

Maine
Peter P. Huang, MD, FACS
Bangor, ME
phuang@emhs.org

Maryland
Vinay Gupta, MD, FACS
Baltimore, MD
Vinay.Gupta@medstar.net

Massachusetts
Peter Hopewood, MD, FACS
Falmouth, MA
peterhopewood@comecast.net

Michigan
Allen Silbergleit, MD, FACS
Pontiac, MI
Allen.Silbergleit@stjoeshealth.org

Minnesota
Richard Thomas Zera, MD, FACS
Minnetonka, MN
richard.zera@hcmed.org

Mississippi
Pierre E. de Delva, MD, FACS
Jackson, MS
pdedelva@umc.edu

Missouri
Theresa Lynn Schwartz, MD, FACS
St. Louis, MO
schwartzl@slu.edu

Montana
Jeffrey Rentz, MD, FACS
Billings, MT 
jrentzmd@mac.com

Nebraska
Rudy Paul Lackner, MD, FACS
Omaha, NE
rlackner@unmc.edu

Nevada
James Brooks Harris, MD, FACS
Reno, NV
jharris@westernsurgical.com 

New Hampshire
Roshani Raman Patel, MD
Manchester, NH
roshani1997@aol.com

New Jersey
Jarrod Kaufman, MD, FACS
Toms River, NJ
jarrod@premiersurgicalnj.com

New Mexico
Ashwani Rajput, MD, FACS
Albuquerque, NM
arajput@salud.unm.edu

New York (Zone L)
Susan He Lee, MD, FACS
New York, NY
susanlee923@gmail.com

New York (Zone U)
Cliff Patrick Connery, MD, FACS
Poughkeepsie, NY
cconnery@health-quest.org   

New York (Manhattan Council)
Maria Teresa Castaldi, MD, FACS
Bronx, NY
maria.castaldi@nbhn.net

North Carolina
Thomas Eisenhauer, MD, FACS
Hendersonville, NC 
tleisenhauer@att.net

North Dakota
Michael Bouton, MD, FACS
Fargo, ND 
michael.bouton@sanfordhealth.org

Ohio 
Michael Duke Sarap, MD, FACS
Cambridge, OH
msarap@msn.com

James Robert Ouellette, DO FACS
Kettering, OH
james.ouellette@wright.edu

Oklahoma
William C. Dooley, MD, FACS
Oklahoma City, OK
william-dooley@ouhsc.edu

Oregon
Richard Bryan Bell, MD, FACS
Portland, OR
richard.bell@providence.org

Pennsylvania (Zone K)
Darius Desai, MD
Easton, PA
Darius.Desai@sluhn.org

Pennsylvania (Zone M)
Michael J. Walker, MD, FACS
Bryn Mawr, PA
WalkerMic@MLHS.ORG

Pennsylvania (Zone S)
James McCormick, DO, FACS
Pittsburgh, PA
jmccorm1@wpahs.org 

Puerto Rico
VACANT

Rhode Island
R. James Koness, MD, FACS
Providence, RI
JKoness@chartercare.org

South Carolina
Brian Patrick McKinley, MD, FACS
Greenville, SC
bmckinley@ghs.org

South Dakota
Wade Dosch, MD, FACS
Sioux Falls, SD
wade.dosch@avera.org

Tennessee
Martin Douglas Fleming, MD, FACS
Memphis, TN
Mflemin6@uthsc.edu

Texas (Zone N)
Subhasis Misra, MD, MBBS, FACS
Amarillo, TX
subhasis.misra@ttuhsc.edu

Texas (Zone S)
Brian Richard Davis, MD, FACS
El Paso, TX
br.davis@ttuhsc.edu

Utah
Robert Andtbacka, MD, FACS
Salt Lake City, UT 
robert.andtbacka@hci.utah.edu

Vermont
Ted A. James, MD, FACS
Burlington, VT
ted.james@uvm.edu

Virginia
Eric C. Feliberti, MD, FACS
Norfolk, VA
felibeec@evms.edu

Washington
Stephen Wesley Bayles, MD, FACS
Seattle, WA
Stephen.Bayles@vmmc.org

West Virginia
Hannah Wright Hazard, MD, FACS
Morgantown, WV
hhazard@hsc.wvu.edu

Wisconsin
Charles Cheng, MD, FACS
Appleton, WI
charles.cheng@thedacare.org

Wyoming
Jeffrey Rentz, MD, FACS
Billings, MT 
jrentzmd@mac.com

 

State Chair Resources

Cancer Liaison Program