American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Special Study Documents and Webinars

Special Study Start Date

As a reminder, the special study will commence on April 17, 2017.

Instructions for the Special Study

Download the instructions using the link shown below. The hard copies of the instructions will likely arrive via USPS next week. Also included below are links to a cover letter that can be used to contact outside providers for patient follow-up information; a detailed list of data elements to share with outside providers when requesting data; and a letter requesting release of patient information.

Guidelines for Data Collection

Feedback from a pilot study estimates data collection will take approximately 45 minutes per patient, with the PSA section identified as the most time consuming. Requesting outside records can take up to one week; survey results show this was done for 10–30 percent of patients. We are providing an estimate so you and your staff can prepare.

Please note: Data collection for this study must to be completed and reported by a Certified Tumor Registrar (CTR).

Webinars for the Special Study

The first webinar is scheduled for Tuesday, April 11, 11:00 am–12:00 noon (CDT) (that is 12:00 noon–1:00 pm [EDT]; 10:00–11:00 am [MDT]; 9:00–10:00 am [PDT].  If you live outside of the continental United States, please verify the time of the meeting in your location.)  If you are unable to make any of the future webinars, they will be recorded for you to access at a later time.

In order to participate in the April 11 webinar, please register.

United States (Toll-free): 1 866 901 6455
United States: +1 (562) 247-8421
Audio PIN: Shown after joining the webinar

Emails

Some registrars have reported these emails are not being delivered to their institutional accounts. We assume institutional firewalls are blocking the delivery of these emails and advise asking your institutional IT services to whitelist/approve our email address (specialstudy@facs.org). We will post all pertinent study information to the CAnswer Forum under Section 5.7. Thank you to those of you who have forwarded these emails to affected individuals.

Thank you again for your participation and time. Your work will be integral to understanding how patients with prostate cancer should be optimally followed up following the treatment of their cancer. We couldn’t do this without you! Send any questions to specialstudy@facs.org.