American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

New Regents, B/G Executive Committee Members Elected

The Board of Governors (B/G) of the American College of Surgeons (ACS) elected two new members of the Board of Regents at the October 24 Annual Business Meeting of the Members.

Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS, FCCP, FCCM, is the Massey Foundation Professor of Surgery; founding division chief, acute care surgery; and director, surgical critical care, department of surgery, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor. A Fellow of the ACS since 1995, Dr. Napolitano has been a tireless volunteer for the College and has served in several important leadership roles within the organization, including as Chair of the B/G.

Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS, is professor of surgery and vice-chair, department of surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN, and is a highly regarded surgical educator and mentor. He became an ACS Fellow in 1987 and has subsequently served in many roles for the ACS, starting as the Young Surgeon Representative for the Tennessee Chapter in 1989 and rising to serve on the ACS B/G.

The B/G has elected Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS, Henry and Sally Schaffer Chair, department of surgery, Albany Medical Center, NY, to serve as its Chair; he previously was Vice-Chair. The newly elected Vice-Chair is Daniel L. Dent, MD, FACS, Distinguished Teaching Professor, general surgery residency program director, and professor of surgery, University of Texas Health School of Medicine, San Antonio; he previously was Secretary. The new Secretary is Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS, professor and chair of surgery, associate vice-president for UI Health Alliance, professor of surgery-surgical oncology and endocrine surgery, professor of biochemistry, professor of anatomy and cell biology, and professor of molecular physiology and biophysics, University of Iowa, Iowa City.

Other newly elected members of the B/G Executive Committee include Andre R. Campbell, MD, FACS, FACP, FCCM, professor of surgery, division of general surgery, director, surgery clerkship, and director, surgical critical care fellowship, University of California-San Francisco; Taylor Sohn Riall, MD, PhD, FACS, professor and chief, division of general surgery and surgical oncology, University of Arizona College of Medicine, Tucson; and Mika N. Sinanan, MD, PhD, FACS, a general surgeon, UW Medical Center and Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, and professor of general surgery and an adjunct professor of electrical engineering, University of Washington, Seattle.

Read more about the newly elected Regents, reelected Regents, and members of the B/G Executive Committee on the ACS Clinical Congress News website.

Read the full issue of NewsScope.