American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Member Services Pillar Update

During the past year, the Member Services Pillar has continued efforts to strengthen both domestic and international chapters by updating resources, creating a chapter performance metric, and coordinating services. The Pillar also conducted extensive outreach for this year’s Surgical Volunteerism and Humanitarian Awards and fine-tuned the selection criteria and the nominations website.

Chapter Activities Domestic Workgroup

Chair (2016–2017): Frank T. Padberg, Jr., MD, FACS (

Vice-Chair (2016–2017): Terry Buchmiller, MD, FACS (

The members of the Chapter Activities Domestic Workgroup continue to implement important initiatives:

  • The Resident and Associate Society (RAS-ACS) Representative and Young Fellows Association (YFA) Initiative is focused on ensuring RAS and YFA representation on the Executive Council of every chapter (currently 51 percent and 45 percent, respectively) to facilitate the development of ideas for programs, projects, and activities that are attractive to residents and surgeons who have recently entered practice.
  • The Chapter Dashboard Initiative is directed at designing a visual representation of the health of the Chapters. The dashboard will include indicators of chapter viability, including finances, membership, advocacy, and online presence to better aid the College in providing services to strengthen and grow the chapters.

In addition, the workgroup has accomplished the following:

  • The Chapter Guidebook and Meeting Toolkit have been updated and finalized and include hyperlinks for reference and to the Chapter Success Stories presented at Leadership & Advocacy Summit. Distribution to specific audiences for feedback is underway.
  • The workgroup suggested several questions for the 2016 Board of Governor’s Annual Survey on the topic of chapters, and the results were presented at the 2017 Leadership & Advocacy Summit.
  • Provided chapter leadership with learning opportunities such as the Chapter Officer Leadership Program held during the 2017 Leadership & Advocacy Summit.

Chapter Activities International Workgroup

Chair (2015–2017): Jamal Hoballah, MD, FACS (

Vice-Chair (2015–2017): (Jorge) Esteban Foianini, MD, FACS (

As a first step toward creating individual International Chapter Communities, the Chapter Activities International Workgroup has established communities for four international regions. The international chapters conducted valuable educational events at regional meetings in Munich, Germany; Lima, Peru; and Beirut, Lebanon with College leadership participation. In addition, data collected from international chapters in the Annual Report/Survey were reviewed to identify next steps to strengthen and grow chapters and regional representation. Other activities include:

  • Providing a preliminary list of International Governors and chapter leaders to the Program Committee to increase their participation as moderators and/or speakers at Clinical Congress.
  • Assisting with the new process of international chapters directly involved in International Fellows interviews.
  • Initiating work toward greater collaboration between the chapters and regional Councils on Trauma.
  • Planning 2018 regional meetings in Rome, Italy and Sydney, Australia.

Surgical Volunteerism and Humanitarian Awards Workgroup

Chair (2015–2017): Frank W. Sellke, MD, FACS (

Vice-Chair (2016-2017): David A. Spain, MD, FACS (

The members of the Surgical Volunteerism and Humanitarian Awards Workgroup utilized the new nomination website that opened to traffic in January 2016, as well as fine-tuned the nomination fields and criteria. Outreach through the ACS Communities, the Bulletin, military Governors, and Advisory Councils was aimed at increasing awareness of these awards, which resulted in a historically high number of nominations (54 as compared with 44 in 2016).

  • The workgroup has selected five recipients, which were presented to the Board of Governors Executive Committee at the June retreat, to be honored at the 2017 Board of Governors Dinner at Clinical Congress.
  • The workgroup continues to collaborate with the military Governors and the Military Health System Strategic Partnership American College of Surgeons (MHSSPACS) to define criteria and further to include the Excelsior Surgical Society and SAGES.

Board of Governors Committee Seats

  • International Relations Committee: Katsuhiko Yanaga, MD, PhD, FACS (2015–2017)
  • ACS Committee on Diversity Issues: Kenneth B. Simon, MD, FACS (2015–2018)
  • ACS Women in Surgery Committee: Annesley W. Copeland, MD, FACS (2012–2018)
  • Young Fellows Association: Shoaib I. Sheikh, MB, BS, FACS (2013–2018)
  • Resident and Associate Society: Glen A. Franklin, MD, FACS (2013–2018)