American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

COT General

2019 COT Spring Meeting Business Session Presentations

During the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACS COT) Spring Meeting, the Business Session forms an important part in keeping our members, liaisons, and consultants current with the progress of past, present, and future committee work within the ACS COT.

Below you will find presentations from the ACS COT Business Session.

State of the Committee on Trauma – Dr. Bulger

Regional Committees on Trauma Update – Dr. Reilly

Education Pillar – Dr. Alam

Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) Update – Dr. Joseph

Firearm Injury Prevention – Dr. Kuhls

Update from the COT Disaster Preparedness Committee – Dr. Ficke

Vision for a Regional Disaster Health Response System – Dr. Kadlec

Massachusetts/Region 1 Partnership for Regional Disaster Health Response—Pilot Grant Implementation – Dr. Biddinger

Nebraska Regional Disaster Health Response EcoSystem (NRDHRE)—Pilot Grant Implementation – Dr. Schlitzkus and Mr. Ferry

Implementation of a Regional Disaster Response Network in Texas – Mr. Epley

Quality Pillar – Dr. Chang

Trauma Systems Pillar – Dr. Eastridge

International Injury Care Committee (I2C2) – Drs. Jimenez, Patel, and Alturki

Pediatric COT Subspecialty Group – Dr. Gaines

Life, Limb, and… – Dr. Mazzoli

Advocacy Pillar – Dr. Coburn

SurgeonsPAC Update – Dr. Coburn

Call for Future Trauma Leaders Applicants

The Future Trauma Leaders (FTL) program is a unique way for the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (COT) to offer an in-depth training and mentoring opportunity for junior trauma and acute care surgeons (those who are less than five years out from fellowship completion).

A competitive application process (advertised in fall, to the COT and AAST/EAST/WEST members) will be used to solicit candidates to participate in an exciting two-year program. In return for its efforts to grow young surgeons, the COT will benefit from the work the program participants deliver during their research projects and from their participation on COT committees.

How will participants benefit from COT participation?

  • Participants will be assigned to a special research/quality improvement project within the Trauma Quality Improvement Program (TQIP) and will present work product reports throughout the program’s two-year period.
  • Participants will also be assigned to COT committees within their area of interest and be encouraged to be actively involved in committee projects.
  • Participants will be encouraged to become engaged in their State and Regional Committees and develop an understanding of the practice and advocacy issues facing their regional trauma system.
  • Participants will be assigned a mentor within the COT to enhance their career development. 

Applications for 2020 are now open and will close for submission on August 26, 2019.

Learn more and apply

2019 Residents Trauma Papers Competition

The ACS Committee on Trauma (ACS COT) held our 41st Annual Residents Trauma Papers Competition during the COT Annual Meeting in San Antonio, TX, on March 8. The competition is open to surgical residents and trauma fellows. Submissions describe original research in the area of trauma care and/or prevention in one of two categories—basic laboratory research or clinical investigation. The competition is funded by the eastern and western states COTs, Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska), and the ACS.

Submissions begin at the state or provincial level, and winners are then judged at regional competitions. Each region is then eligible to submit two abstracts to a panel of COT judges, who make the final selection for presentation at the Scientific Session of the COT meeting. This year, 15 presentations were given at the session, which was moderated by Leonard J. Weireter, MD, FACS, Vice-Chair of the ACS COT and Chair of the ACS Regional Committees on Trauma. Each of the 15 presenters received a prize of $500, with an additional $500 awarded to the second-place winners in each category, and an extra $1,000 was awarded to the two first-place winners.

First- and Second-Place Winners

1st Place, Basic Laboratory Science
Elliott C Williams, MD, UC San Diego Division of Trauma, San Diego, CA
“The Uniquely Human Gene CHRFAM7A Modulates Emergency Myelopoiesis after Injury”

2nd Place, Basic Laboratory Science
Patricia Martinez-Quinones, MD, Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University, Augusta, GA
“N-Formyl Peptide Mediated Vascular Endothelium Barrier Dysfunction in Sepsis and Trauma-Induced Systemic Inflammatory Response Syndrome Is Improved with Deformylase”

1st Place, Clinical Research
Hope Villiard, MD, Iowa Methodist Medical Center, Des Moines, IA
“Who Hurts More? A Multicenter, Prospective Study of In-Hospital Opioid Use in Pediatric Trauma Patients in the Midwest”

2nd Place, Clinical Research
Parin Boonthum, MD Songklanagarind Hospital, Prince of Songkla University, Songkhla, Thailand
“Wind of Change: The Paradigm Shift in Antimicrobial Therapy in Soft-Tissue Blast Injuries”

See the 2019 regional winners and photos

COT Annual Meeting Awards

Chris Cribari, MD, FACS
Committee on Trauma Meritorious Achievement Award

ACS COT Chair Eileen M. Bulger, MD, FACS (right), with Chris Cribari, MD, FACS (left), recipient of the 2019 Trauma Meritorious Achievement Award 

ATLS Award Recipients

We thank each member of our ATLS community for their continuous efforts and dedication.

Esteban Foianini, MD, FACS
2019 recipient of the ATLS International Meritorious Award

For his leadership on the regional efforts in translating  ATLS, and for his efforts in building relationships between local ACS Chapters and Regional Committees on Trauma in Region 14.

Sharon Henry, MD, FACS (left), and Eileen M. Bulger (right), with the 2019 ATLS International Meritorious Award recipient, Esteban Foianini, MD, FACS (center)