American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

COT General

2017 Residents Trauma Papers Competition

The ACS Committee on Trauma (ACS COT) held its 40th Annual Residents Trauma Papers Competition during the ACS COT Annual Meeting in National Harbor, MD, on March 2. The competition is open to surgical residents and trauma fellows. Submissions describe original research in the area of trauma care and/or prevention in one of two categories—basic laboratory research or clinical investigation. The competition is funded by the eastern and western states COTs, Region 7 (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska), and the ACS.

Submissions begin at the state or provincial level, and winners are then judged at regional competitions. Each region is then eligible to submit two abstracts to a panel of COT judges, who make the final selection for presentation at the Scientific Session of the COT meeting. This year, 15 presentations were given at the session, which was moderated by Leonard J. Weireter, MD, FACS, Vice-Chair of the ACS COT and Chair of the ACS Regional Committees on Trauma. Each of the 15 presenters received a prize of $500, with an additional $500 awarded to the second-place winners in each category, and an extra $1,000 was awarded to the two first-place winners.

The first- and second-place place winners are:

1st Place, Basic Laboratory Science

Teresa C. Rice, MD, Cincinnati, OH
“Multiple methods to increase sphingosine rescue burn mice from lung pseudomonas aeruginosa”

2nd Place, Basic Laboratory Science

Theresa Chan, MD, San Diego, CA
“CHRFAM7A Expression Implies a Uniquely Human Mechanism Gauging Vagal Responsiveness”

1st Place, Clinical Research

Stephanie Mason, MD, Toronto, ON, Canada
“Self-harm emergencies after major burn injury: A population-based analysis”

2nd Place, Clinical Research

Sabrina Balakrishnan, MBBS, Kajang, Malaysia
“CRIES in the Dark: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Adolescents Following Motor Vehicle Accidents (MVA) Is No ‘Small Matter’”

Leonard J. Weireter, MD, FACS, with Regional winners: Back row: Chad Hall, MD; Andre Steiner Madsen, MD; Stephanie A. Mason, MD; Joanelle A. Bailey, MD; Dr. Weireter, Jared Gallaher, MD, MPH; Benjamin R. Huebner, MD. Front row: Matthew Leatherman, DO; Teresa C. Rice, MD; Theresa Chan, MD; Kelly A. Fair, MD; Catherine M. Dickinson, MD; Kristen DeGirolamo, MD. Not in the photo: Sabrina Balakrishnan, MBBS; Jason H. Chen, MD; James P. De Andrade, MD; Juan Sanjuan, MD

2017 Regional Winners

Region 1

Catherine M. Dickinson, MD (Basic Science)
Rhode Island Hospital Division of Surgical Research, Department of Surgery, Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Providence, RI
“Endothelial barrier disruption of critically ill patient neutrophils is abrogated by Leukadherin-1 treatment”

Region 2

Joanelle A. Bailey, MD (Basic Science)
Rutgers University, New Jersey Medical School, Newark, NJ
“Stress exacerbates traumatic brain injury”

Region 3

Jason H. Chen, MD (Basic Science)
MedStar Washington Hospital Center, Washington, DC
“Topically applied stem cell conditioned media accelerates burn-related wound healing”

Region 4

Jared Gallaher, MD, MPH (Clinical Research)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Department of Surgery, Durham, NC
“The effect of a new surgical residency program on trauma mortality at a Sub-Saharan Africa tertiary center”

Region 5

Teresa C. Rice, MD (Basic Science)
University of Cincinnati, Division of Research, Cincinnati, OH
“Multiple methods to increase sphingosine rescue burn mice from lung Pseudomonas Aeruginosa infection”

Region 6

Chad Hall, MD (Clinical Research)
Scott & White Medical Center, Part of Baylor Scott & White Health, Temple, TX
“Long-term outcomes of falls in octogenarians taking oral anti-platelet and anti-coagulant medications”

Region 7

James P. De Andrade, MD (Clinical Research)
University of Iowa, Department of Surgery, Iowa City, IA
“Predicting hospital length of stay in trauma patients using sarcopenia”

Region 8

Benjamin R. Huebner, MD (Basic Science)
University of Colorado Denver, Aurora, CO
“Delayed onset of fibrinolysis resistance due to tissue plasminogen activator (tPA)-induced plasminogen activator inhibitor (PAI-1) release from liver endothelium”

Region 9

Theresa Chan, MD (Basic Science)
University of California San Diego, San Diego, CA
“CHRFAM7A expression implies a uniquely human mechanism gauging vagal responsiveness”

Region 10

Kelly A. Fair, MD (Clinical Research)
Oregon Health & Science University, Portland, OR
“Fibrinolytic activation in patients with progressive intracranial hemorrhage after traumatic brain injury”

Region 11

Kristen DeGirolamo, MD (Clinical Research)
University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC
“Processes of health care delivery, education, and provider satisfaction in acute care surgery: A systematic review”

Region 12

Stephanie A. Mason, MD (Clinical Research)
Sunnybrook Research Institute, Toronto, ON
“Self-harm emergencies after major burn injury: A population-based analysis”

Region 13

Matthew Leatherman, DO (Basic Science)
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, Suffolk, VA
“Comparison of alternative decompression devices for tension hemopneumothorax (t- H/PTX) and pulseless electrical activity (PEA) in a Positive-Pressure Ventilation Yorkshire Swine Model”

Region 14

Juan Sanjuan, MD (Clinical Research)
Universidad Surcolombiana, Neiva, Colombia
“Should ultrasound assessment replace chest X ray in chest trauma assessment? Experience in a middle-income country teaching hospital”

Region 15

Andre Steiner Madsen, MD (Clinical Research)
Pietermaritzburg Metropolitan Trauma Service, Pietermaritzburg Metropolitan Hospital Complex, Department of Surgery, University of KwaZulu-Natal Nelson R. Mandela School of Medicine Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
“CT angiography is the definitive imaging modality for penetrating neck injury: A South African experience”

Region 16

Sabrina Balakrishnan, MBBS (Clinical Research)
Hospital Kajang, Kajang, Malaysia
“Cries in the dark: Post-traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in adolescents following motor vehicle accidents (MVA) is no ‘small matter’”

Leonard J. Weireter, MD, FACS, with Regional winners

2017 COT Annual Meeting Awards

Committee on Trauma Meritorious Achievement Award 

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, ACS COT Chair; with Leonard J. Weireter, Jr., MD, FACS, recipient of the Meritorious Award.

ATLS International Meritorious Award

Ronald M. Stewart, MD, FACS, ACS COT Chair; Maria Fernanda Jimenez Ayala, MD, FACS, recipient of the ATLS International Meritorious Award; and Karen Brasel, MD, FACS.

Sharon M. Henry, MD FACS (left) with the winner of the ATLS Styner Meritorious Award  award, Kimberley T. Joseph, MD FACS (right)

View a slideshow of photos from the COT Annual Meeting