American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Indiana Chapter

The Indiana Chapter of the American College of Surgeons was established in 1952 with Carl H. McCaskey, MD, FACS as Chapter President. The Mission of the ACS Indiana Chapter is to improve the standards of surgical care and medical education in the State of Indiana, to enhance fellowship among surgeons, to provide a forum for young surgeons and to support the goals of the American College of Surgeons. The Indiana Chapter hosts three lectureships each year, one at the Chapter’s annual meeting which is held in the spring. Two other lectureships the Will C. Moore Lecture, offered in the fall and the John E. Jesseph Lecture, offered in the winter, are held in conjunction with meetings of the Indiana University School of Medicine, Department of Surgery. John E. Jesseph, MD, FACS was past Chair of the Department of Surgery at Indiana University and the close relationship between Indiana University and the Indiana Chapter remains a tribute to Dr. Jesseph.

In recent years the Indiana Chapter has made state and federal advocacy a top priority and the chapter has received State Advocacy Grants via the College’s Division of Advocacy and Health Policy. These grants fund advocacy education and allow Fellows to attend the annual ‘Day at the Capitol’ where Chapter members meet with their state legislators. Indiana Chapter members also travel to Washington, D.C. each year to attend the ACS Leadership and Advocacy Summit, and the Chapter sponsors resident participation at the Summit. The Indiana Chapter’s web site was pioneered by Robert Inlow, MD, FACS in 1996, and the Chapter is indebted to his dedication and commitment to developing one of the first ACS Chapter web sites.

Membership in the American College of Surgeons does not include automatic enrollment in the local chapter. Please complete the Indiana Chapter membership application or contact the chapter administrator/executive director listed below to join your chapter today! For more information about the chapter visit the Indiana Chapter website.

Chapter Contact

Thomas W Dixon


Website URL:

Indiana Chapter, ACS
322 Canal Walk
Indianapolis IN, 46202
United States

Meeting Information

Annual Chapter Meeting: April 06-07, 2018
Gillespie Conference Center
53995 IN-933 South Bend, IN, 46637

Contact: Tom Dixon
Phone: (317) 251-2060


Don Jay Selzer, MD FACS

Raghunandan L. Motaganahalli, MBBS FACS
President Elect

Bradford John Barrett, MD FACS

William F. Nowlin, MD FACS

David Joseph Welsh, MD FACS

Chad E. Galer, MD FACS
CoC State Chair

Scott Gerard Thomas, MD FACS
COT State Chair

Brian Lamont Brewer, MD FACS
YFA Chapter Representative

Ashley Gutwein, MD
RAS Chapter Representative

John Martin, MD
RAS Chapter Representative