American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Metropolitan Washington DC Chapter

1. To promote the aims, interests, ideals, and programs of the College in the metropolitan area of Washington, which includes DC as well as suburban Maryland and Virginia.

2. To hold itself responsible for and use its best efforts to attain the objectives of the College, which are to "elevate the standards of surgery, establish a standard of competency and of character for practitioners of surgery, to provide a method of granting Fellowship, and to educate the public and the profession to understand that the practice of surgery calls for special training and that the surgeon elected to Fellowship in this College has had such training and is properly qualified to practice surgery."

3. To welcome new Fellows of the College into the Chapter and develop better acquaintances among local Fellows.

4. To stimulate interest in the Resident-Associate Society (RAS) among surgical residents and young surgeons.

The Chapter is comprised of more than 400 members. These individuals are drawn from all the surgical specialties — from general surgery to plastic surgery, from urology to vascular. The membership is very diverse with significant representation from all local training centers, including the military.

Chapter Contact

Emily Maurer


American College of Surgeons
633 N. Saint Clair Street
Chicago IL, 60611
United States