American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

South Texas Chapter

Founded in 1970, the South Texas Chapter of the American College of Surgeons mission is to provide education and advocacy for members so that they may deliver optimal care to surgical patients in South Texas. The Chapter Executive Council includes officers, councilors, committee members, Governors of the College and past presidents. Councilors include representatives from our geographically diverse regions in South Texas: Eastern (Houston, Galveston & Beaumont), Southern (San Antonio & the Valley), Hill Country (Austin & Temple) and Western (El Paso). Eleven surgical training programs participate at the Annual Meeting of the South Texas Chapter of the American College of Surgeons. Each of the various training programs will be in charge of “hosting” the Annual Meeting on a rotating basis and provide speakers to the yearly Pokorny Lecture in the surgical sciences, a presenter on ethics, as well as work with the Chapter Administrator in planning the entirety of the meeting. The meeting also features many resident poster and oral presentations, an update from leaders in the American College of Surgeons, a resident Surgical Jeopardy competition and resident skills competition.

Membership in the American College of Surgeons does not include automatic enrollment in the local chapter. Please complete the South Texas Chapter membership application online or contact the chapter administrator/executive director listed below to join your chapter today! For more information about the chapter visit the South Texas Chapter website.

Chapter Contact

Janna Pecquet
Executive Director


South Texas Chapter
phone: 504-841-0145
fax: 504-335-2266
United States

Meeting Information

Annual Chapter Meeting: February 07-09, 2019
Sheraton Austin Hotel at the Capitol
701 E 11th St Austin, TX, 78701

Contact: Janna Pecquet
Phone: (504) 841-0145


J. Scott Thomas, MD FACS

Brian Richard Davis, MD FACS
President Elect

Robert Todd
Vice President

Alan Henry Tyroch, MD FACS
Past President

Kent Roderick Van Sickle, MD FACS

Mary Lynn Brandt, MD FACS

Daniel Lawrence Dent, MD FACS

Tien C. Ko, MD FACS

Ricardo David Martinez, MD FACS

John Patrick Walker, MD FACS

David H. Berger, MD MHCM FACS
Specialty Society Governor

Mary J. Edwards, MD FACS
Specialty Society Governor

Vinod Kumar Panchbhavi, MBBS FACS
Specialty Society Governor

James William Suliburk, MD FACS
Specialty Society Governor

Brian Richard Davis, MD FACS
CoC State Chair

Carlos V. R. Brown, MD FACS
COT State Chair

Robert Owens Carpenter, MD FACS
YFA Chapter Representative

Matthew Murray Tillman, MD
RAS Chapter Representative

Show More