Commission on Cancer State Chair Town Hall

October 22, 2023



CoC Cancer Liaison Physicians Meeting

Quyen Chu, MD, FACS

Chair

Committee on Cancer Liaison



Maria Castaldi, MD, FACS

Vice-Chair

Committee on Cancer Liaison





Welcome to New CoC State Chairs



Nicholas Sich, MD

Montana and Wyoming



CoC State Chair Recognition Advisory Group



Jeffrey Farma, MD, FACS Metro Philadelphia



2023 CoC State Chair Outstanding Performance Award



Quan Ly, MD, FACS Nebraska



James McLoughlin, MD, FACS Tennessee



2023 CLP Outstanding Performance Award Winners

Steven Curley, MD, FACS

Northeast Texas Cancer and Research Institute Tyler, TX

Janet K. Ihde, MD, FACS

Comprehensive Cancer Center at Desert Regional Medical Center Palm Springs, CA

Adam Lackey, MD

Jersey City Medical Center Jersey City, NJ



2023 CLP Outstanding Performance Award Winners

M. Ellen Mahoney, MD, FACS

Providence St. Joseph Eureka Eureka, CA

Marc Mandel, MD, FACS

Overlook Medical Center Summit, NJ

Andrew D. Nish, MD

Iowa Methodist Medical Center (UnityPoint Health- John Stoddard Cancer Center)
Des Moines, IA



2023 CLP Outstanding Performance Award Winners

Jaspreet Singh, DO

Premier Medical Group Newburgh, NY

Mark Sundermeyer, MD

CMH/OHSU Knight Cancer Collaborative Astoria, OR

Lori Vanyo, MD, FACS

Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center Pomona, CA

Kenneth C. Wang

Baltimore VA Medical Center Baltimore, MD



2023 CoC Research Paper Competition: Clinical Research



1st Place: Lauren M. Janczewski, MD, MS



2nd and 3rd Place: Mohamed Aly, MBBCH



2024 ACS Cancer Conference

February 22-24
Austin, TX



Making the Most of Media Opportunities

Brian K. Edwards

October 22, 2023

Open Forum





Thank you!

Questions?

Melissa Leeb: mleeb@facs.org

Rebecca Medina: rmedina@facs.org











ACS Cancer Programs



@AmColSurgCancer