American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

American College of Surgeons Past Jacobson Innovation Award Recipients


1994: Professor Francois Dubois, Paris, France
Laparoscopic cholecystectomy
1995: Thomas Starzl, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Liver transplantation
1996: Joel D. Cooper, MD, FACS, St. Louis, MO
Lung transplantation and lung volume reduction surgery
1998: Juan Carlos Parodi, MD, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Treatment of arterial aneurysms, occlusive disease, and vascular injuries by using endovascular stent grafts
1999: John F. Burke, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Development and implementation of a number of innovative techniques in burn care, including the co-development of an artificial skin (Integra™)
2000:  Paul L. Tessier, MD, FACS (Hon), Boulogne, France
Development of a new surgical specialty (craniofacial surgery)
2001: Thomas J. Fogarty, MD, FACS, Portola Valley, CA
Design and development of industry standard minimally invasive surgical instrumentation, especially for cardiovascular surgery
2002: Michael R. Harrison, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Creator of the specialty of fetal surgery and developing techniques of fetoscopy for minimally invasive fetal technology
2003: Robert H. Bartlett, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Pioneer in the development and establishment of the first extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) program
2004: Harry J. Buncke, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Pioneer in the field of microsurgery and replantation
2005: Stanley J. Dudrick, MD, FACS, Waterbury , CT
Innovator of specialized nutrition support and a pioneer in the field of clinical nutrition
2006:  Judah Folkman, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Pioneer in the field of angiogenesis
2007: William S. Pierce, MD, FACS, Hershey, PA
Pioneer in the conception and development of mechanical circulatory support and the total artificial mechanical heart
2008: Donald L. Morton, MD, FACS, Santa Monica, CA
Pioneered research efforts toward the development and clinical application of sentinel lymph node biopsy
2009: Bernard Fisher, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Set a new course for the treatment of breast cancer by proposing that it is a systemic disease that metastasizes unpredictably and would best be treated with lumpectomy combined with adjuvant chemotherapy
2010:  Lazar J. Greenfield, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Developed the Greenfield vena cava filter, an implantable device that changed the technology associated with the pulmonary embolic complications of deep venous thrombosis
2011: George Berci, MD, FACS, Los Angeles, CA
Made pioneering contributions to the art and science of endoscopy and laparoscopy, resulting in the high level of technology used to perform many endoscopic and laparoscopic surgical procedures

W. Hardy Hendren III, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Developed novel reconstruction procedures for children with severe urogenital abnormalities               


Susan E. Mackinnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC, St. Louis, MO
Leader in the innovative use of nerve transfer procedures for treatment of patients with devastating peripheral nerve injuries

# # #

About the American College of Surgeons
The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and improve the quality of care for all surgical patients. The College is dedicated to the ethical and competent practice of surgery. Its achievements have significantly influenced the course of scientific surgery in America and have established it as an important advocate for all surgical patients. The College has more than 79,000 members and is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. For more information, visit