American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Past Jacobson Innovation Award Recipients


Past Jacobson Innovation Award Recipients


Professor Francois Dubois, Paris, France
Laparoscopic cholecystectomy

1995: Thomas Starzl, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Liver transplantation
1996: Joel D. Cooper, MD, FACS, St. Louis, MO
Lung transplantation and lung volume reduction surgery
1998: Juan Carlos Parodi, MD, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Treatment of arterial aneurysms, occlusive disease, and vascular injuries by using endovascular stented grafts
1999: John F. Burke, MD, FACS, Boston, MA
Development and implementation of a number of innovative techniques in burn care, including the co-development of an artificial skin (IntegraTM)
2000: Paul L. Tessier, MD, FACS (Hon), Boulogne, France
Development of a new surgical specialty (craniofacial surgery)
2001: Thomas J. Fogarty, MD, FACS, Portola Valley, CA
Design and development of industry standard minimally invasive surgical instrumentation, especially for cardiovascular surgery
2002: Michael R. Harrison, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Creator of the specialty of fetal surgery and developing techniques of fetoscopy for minimally invasive fetal technology.
2003: Robert H. Bartlett, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Pioneer in the development and establishment of the first extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) program
2004: Harry J. Buncke, MD, FACS, San Francisco, CA
Pioneer in the field of microsurgery and replantation
2005: Stanley J. Dudrick, MD, FACS, Waterbury , CT
Innovator of specialized nutrition support and a pioneer in the field of clinical nutrition
2006: Judah Folkman, MD, FACS, Boston , MA
Pioneer in the field of angiogenesis
2007: William S. Pierce, MD, FACS, Hershey , PA
Pioneer in the conception and development of mechanical circulatory support and the total artificial mechanical heart
2008: Donald L. Morton, MD, FACS, Santa Monica, CA
Pioneered research efforts toward the development and clinical application of sentinel lymph node biopsy
2009: Bernard Fisher, MD, FACS, Pittsburgh, PA
Set a new course for the treatment of breast cancer by proposing that it is a systemic disease that metastasizes unpredictably and would best be treated with lumpectomy combined with adjuvant chemotherapy.

Lazar J. Greenfield, MD, FACS, Ann Arbor, MI
Developed  the Greenfield Filter, a vena cava filter implanted under fluoroscopic guidance to prevent pulmonary embolism and deep vein thrombosis in susceptible surgical patients

2011 Jacobson Innovation Award Recipient Announced

# # #

About the American College of Surgeons
The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and improve the quality of care for all surgical patients. The College is dedicated to the ethical and competent practice of surgery. Its achievements have significantly influenced the course of scientific surgery in America and have established it as an important advocate for all surgical patients. The College has more than 79,000 members and is the largest organization of surgeons in the world. For more information, visit