American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

About SESAP Sampler CME


Upon completion of a SESAP® Sampler annual subscription, participants will be able to assess their proficiency on questions across 12 topic areas and identify those areas that might require additional study. In addition, participants will be able to affirm existing knowledge and consider applying new knowledge to enhance their practices as appropriate. Completion of the monthly modules can be used to demonstrate a commitment to the principles of lifelong learning and self-assessment and may be useful toward fulfillment of Maintenance of Certification requirements.


The American College of Surgeons is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

CME Credit

The American College of Surgeons designates this enduring material for a maximum of 6 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ (per annual subscription). Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Intended Audience

Surgeons, surgical residents, and other physicians

Requirements to Earn CME Credit

To be eligible for CME credit, participants must complete each of the monthly modules by answering the questions, reading the accompanying critiques, achieving a score of 100 percent (with unlimited attempts), and submitting the results online. Following completion of 12 modules, participants will complete and submit an evaluation form, after which a CME certificate will be available. The estimated time needed to complete a module and read the critiques is 30 minutes. These modules require your computer to be logged on to the Internet. Following electronic submission of the answers for 12 monthly modules and completion of an overall evaluation form, a CME certificate will be available to print. Credit will not be transferred to the participant’s MyCME Page until 12 modules have been completed.

Release and Expiration Dates for CME Credit

Modules are released on a monthly basis and address a specific topic. To qualify for CME credit, each module must be completed and submitted within three months of the module release date.


John A. Weigelt, MD, DVM, FACS, SESAP Medical Director
SESAP 15 Authors (please refer to list below)

Author Disclosure Information

In accordance with the ACCME’s Accreditation Criteria, ACS must ensure that anyone in a position to control the content of the educational activity has disclosed all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest. The SESAP 15 Planning Committee members, editors, and authors were required to complete disclosure forms and report all financial relationships. The ACCME defines a commercial interest as “any entity producing, marketing, reselling, or distributing health care goods or services consumed by, or used on, patients.” It does not consider providers of clinical service directly to patients to be commercial interests. The ACCME considers “relevant” financial relationships as financial transactions (in any amount) that may create a conflict of interest and occur within the 12 months preceding the time that the individual is being asked to assume a role controlling content of the educational activity.

The ACCME also requires that ACS manage any reported conflict and eliminate the potential for bias as it pertains to the development of SESAP. Anyone who disclosed a potential conflict pertaining to his or her role in SESAP 15 has been contacted, and the disclosures listed below have been managed to our satisfaction. However, if you perceive a bias while participating in the program, please advise us of the circumstances when completing the evaluation form. The requirement for disclosure is not intended to imply any impropriety of such relationships, but simply to identify such relationships through full disclosure and to allow participants to make their own judgments regarding the program.


Disclosure information is listed below for planning committee members, contributors, and ACS staff involved in the development of SESAP 15.

Reid B. Adams, MD, FACS (Principal Investigator—Karl Storz; Principal Investigator & Independent Research Contractor—NewLinks Genetics; Independent Research Contractor—Nycomed Takeda)
Richard M. Bell, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
David C. Borgstrom, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Judy C. Boughey, MB, BChir, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Karen J. Brasel, MD, MPH, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
David R. Brenin, MD, FACS (Consultant—InSightec)
David A. Bull, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Herbert Chen, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Clay Cothren Burlew, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
David W. Easter, MD, FACS (Speaker honorarium—Covidien; Scientific Advisory Board honorarium—Histogen)
Mary E. Fallat, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Jason B. Fleming, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
T. Clark Gamblin, MD, MS, FACS (Speaker honorarium—Salient Solutions; Speaker honorarium—Covidien; Speaker honorarium—Onyx/Bayer; Consultant—Nycomed)
David A. Gerber, MD, FACS (Consultant—Clinipace; Consultant—Tengion; Consultant—Pathfinder Therapeutics)
Nicole S. Gibran, MD, FACS (Consultant & Advisory Board honorarium—Molnlycke)
Amy J. Goldberg, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Philip C. Guzzetta, Jr., MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Shelby A. Holt, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Roger D. Hurst, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Kamal M. F. Itani, MD, FACS (Principal Investigator—LifeCell; Site Investigator—Merck; Site Investigator—Sanofi-Pasteur; Site Investigator—Cubist; Advisory Board honorarium—Forest Pharmaceuticals; CME program faculty honorarium—MedDirect; CME program faculty honorarium—Avid)
Richard P. M. Koehler, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Lorrie A. Langdale, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Forrest O. Moore, MD, FACS (Editor—Wiley-Blackwell)
Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS, FCCP, FCCM (Nothing to disclose)
Raminder Nirula, MD, MPH, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
John T. Paige, MD, FACS (Co-Editor—Oxford University Press)
Robert R. Quickel, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Jeffrey C. Reese, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Matthew B. Rossi, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Thomas T. Sato, MD, FACS, FAAP (Nothing to disclose)
Timothy D. Sielaff, MD, PhD, MBA, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
David A. Spain, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Judith L. Trudel, MD, MSc, MHPE, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
William W. Turner, Jr., MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
James G. Tyburski, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Daniel Vargo, MD, FACS (Speaker–Teacher honorarium—LifeCell/KCI)
Vic Velanovich, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
John T. Vetto, MD, FACS (Speaker honorarium—Merck; spouse’s employer—Genentech)
Travis P. Webb, MD, MHPE, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
John A. Weigelt, MD, DVM, FACS (Consultant honorarium—Pfizer)
Robert M. Whitfield, MD, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Catherine M. Wittgen, MD, FACS (Speaker honorarium—Bristol-Meyers Squibb; Speaker honorarium—Sanofi; Speaker honorarium—Organogenesis; Principal Investigator & Advisory Board member—Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals; Principal Investigator—CryoLife)
Ajit K. Sachdeva, MD, FRCSC, FACS (Nothing to disclose)
Patrice Gabler Blair, MPH (Nothing to disclose)
Belinda A. Andry (Nothing to disclose)
Chrysa M. Cullather (Nothing to disclose)
Julie A. Cwik (Nothing to disclose)