American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Best Practice Committee


David Farley, MD, FACS
Gladys Fernandez, MD


Ruth Braga MSN, RN
James Cooke, MD
Sheryl Pfeil, MD
Mayur Narayan, MD, MPH, MBA, FACS
Ranjan Sudan, MD


Kathleen A Johnson, EdM
Cathy Sormalis


The Best Practices Committee of the Consortium of American College of Surgeons Accredited Education Institutes (ACS-AEI) serves to enrich the ACS-AEI community through identifying, disseminating and promoting best practices.


The goal of the Best Practices Committee is to identify, disseminate, and promote to members of the Consortium and to the surgical community involved in simulation-based surgical education the Best Practices that have been identified through the AEI accreditation review process, the research presented through the Consortium Abstract Program at the Consortium Meeting, multi-institutional studies sponsored by the AEI program, and other vehicles to be identified. The Best Practices Committee will also identify the best platforms to deliver the content and to keep it relevant for the users within the surgical community. As Best Practices are identified by the Committee, we will share descriptions and documents with our community through this webpage.

If you have questions please contact Cathy Sormalis, AEI Manager, at or at 312-202-5535.