American College Of Surgeons - Inspiring Quality: Highest Standards, Better Outcomes

Editorial Board


Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS
Vice-chair, clinical research, department of surgery; Miner Family Chair in Intrathoracic Cancers; attending surgeon, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; and professor of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS
Clinical professor of surgery and director of medical education, Kansas University School of Medicine, Salina, KS

J. Wayne Meredith, MD, FACS, MCCM
Richard T. Myers Professor and Chairman, department of surgery; chair of surgery, Wake Forest School of Medicine; and medical director, The Children's Institute for Pediatric Trauma, Winston-Salem, NC

Board of Regents

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS
Private practice, Wichita Falls, TX

L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS
Paul B. Magnuson Chair of Orthopaedic Surgery; chair, department of orthopaedics; and professor of surgery, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine; plastic and reconstructive surgery, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, PA

James K. Elsey, MD, FACS
Private practice; visiting professor of surgery, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta, GA

Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, MPH, FACS
Professor of surgery and chairman, department of traumatology and emergency medicine, University of Connecticut; and director, trauma program, Hartford Hospital, Hartford, CT

Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS
Lewis Atterbury Stimson Professor and chairman, department of surgery, Weill Cornell Medical College; and surgeon-in-chief, New York Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center, New York, NY

Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS, FCCP, FCCM
Massey Foundation Professor of Surgery; founding division chief, acute care surgery; and director, surgical critical care, department of surgery, University of Michigan Health System, Ann Arbor, MI

Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS
Professor of surgery and vice-chair, department of surgery, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN

Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS
Henry & Sally Schaffer Chair & Professor, department of surgery, Albany Medical Center, Albany, NY

Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCS (Eng), FRCS (ED), FRCSI (Hon), Hon FRCS (Glasg)
Director, digestive disease center, Cleveland Clinic Florida, Weston, FL 

Board of Governors

Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS
Professor, chair of surgery, and associate vice-president, University of Iowa Health Alliance; and professor of surgical oncology and endocrine surgery, biochemistry, anatomy and cell biology, and molecular physiology and biophysics; University of Iowa, Iowa City

Advisory Council for General Surgery

John H. Stewart, IV, MD, MBA
Presidential Scholar and professor of surgery, University of Illinois (UIC) College of Medicine, Chicago; physician executive, oncology services; and associate director for clinical research, UIC Cancer Center, Chicago

Young Fellows Association

Paula Ferrada, MD, FACS
Director, surgical critical care fellowship program; professor of surgery, department of surgery, division of acute care surgical services; and medical director, surgical and trauma intensive care unit, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine, Richmond, VA

Nicolas J. Mouawad, MD, FACS, MPH, MBA, RPVI
Chief, vascular and endovascular surgery, and vice-chair, department of surgery, McLaren Bay Region, Bay City, MI

Resident and Associate Society of the American College of Surgeons

Naveen Sangji, MD, MPH
Assistant professor, general surgery, Michigan Medicine, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

ACS Staff

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS
Executive Director 

Patrick V. Bailey, MD, FACS
Medical Director, Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Lewis M. Flint, MD, FACS
Editor-in-Chief, Selected Readings in General Surgery, ACS Division of Education 

Clifford Y. Ko, MD, MS, MSHS, FACS
Director, Division of Research and Optimal Patient Care

Frank R. Opelka, MD, FACS
Medical Director, Division of Advocacy and Health Policy

Patricia L. Turner, MD, FACS
Director, Division of Member Services