

Winston-Salem, NC

First Vice-President

H. Randolph Bailey, MD, FACS, FASCRS

Houston, TX First Vice-President-Elect Quan-Yang Duh, MD, FACS

San Francisco, CA **Second Vice-President** Lisa A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO

a A. Newman, MD, MPH, FACS, FASCO New York, NY Second Vice-President-Elect

Richard A. Lynn, MD, FACS Palm Beach, FL Secretary

Tyler G. Hughes, MD, FACS Salina, KS

Treasurer Don K. Nakayama, MD, MBA, FACS Chapel Hill, NC

Executive Director David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL

Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

BOARD OF REGENTS

Chair L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS

Philadelphia, PA

Vice-Chair

Steven D. Wexner, MD, PhD(Hon), FACS, FRCSEng, FRCSEd, FRCSI(Hon), FRCSGlasg(Hon)
Weston. FL

Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC

John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN

Francoise P. Chagnon, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC

Annesley (AJ) W. Copeland, MD, FACS Washington, DC

> James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS Alexandria, VA Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS

Saint Louis, MO Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS, FRCS

Sacramento, CA

Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS Miami, FL James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS

Huntington, WV Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC

Sean C. Grondin, MD, MPH, FACS, FRCSC Calgary, AB

Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA

Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS New York, NY Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS

Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS

Galveston, TX Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS

Nashville, TN Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS

Washington, DC Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS Albany, NY

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Wichita Falls, TX

Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD

David J. Welsh, MD, MBA, FACS Batesville, IN Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Chair

Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS
lowa City, IA

Vice-Chair

Nancy Lynn Gantt, MD, FACS
Youngstown, OH

Secretary

Andre R. Campbell, MD, FACS
San Francisco. CA



Chicago Headquarters

633 N. Saint Clair Street Chicago, IL 60611-3295

Voice: 312-202-5000 Fax: 312-202-5001 E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

Washington Office

20 F Street, NW Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20001

Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: djohnson@facs.org

facs.org

October 7, 2021

The Honorable Bill Cassidy, MD U.S. Senate 520 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Angus King U.S. Senate 133 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Cassidy and King:

On behalf of the more than 82,000 members of the American College of Surgeons, I would like to express our support for the Good Samaritan Health Professionals Act (S. 2941), legislation that would ensure disaster victims' access to medically necessary care in a federally declared emergency.

Rapid medical response in a disaster can greatly decrease loss of life and improve outcomes for patients who desperately need assistance. Surgeons with training in trauma and critical care, play a major role in the health care community's response to most disaster situations.

Due to inconsistent state laws and lack of federal policy, it is often unclear whether protections against unnecessary lawsuits exist for medical volunteers who cross state lines. Unfortunately, this uncertainty disincentives physicians from volunteering and in some cases, trained and qualified professionals have been turned away.

S. 2941 would provide volunteer health professionals with the same level of civil immunity they receive in their home state when providing care in a federally declared emergency. Removing barriers that prohibit licensed surgeons and other qualified physicians from voluntarily administering medically necessary care during disasters will ensure access to high-quality surgical services in the event of a crisis.

Thank you for your efforts and leadership on this issue; ACS strongly supports the Good Samaritan Health Professionals Act.

Sincerely,

David B. Hyt

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Executive Director