OFFICERS President Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS Seattle, WA Immediate Past-President Barbara L. Bass, MD, FACS Houston, TX President-Elect Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS New York, NY First Vice-President Mark C. Weissler, MD, FACS Chapel Hill, NC First Vice-President-Elect John A. Weigelt, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD Second Vice-President Philip R. Caropreso, MD, FACS Keokuk, IA Second Vice-President-Elect F. Dean Griffen, MD, FACS Shreveport, LA Secretary Edward E. Cornwell III, MD, FACS Washington, DC Treasurer William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS

Providence, RI Executive Director David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA

BOARD OF REGENTS Gerald M. Fried, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC Vice-Chair James K. Elsey, MD, FACS Atlanta, GA Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS Alexandria, VA Margaret M. Dunn, MD, FACS Fairborn, OH Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS Saint Louis, MO Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS Miami, FL James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Omaha NF B.J. Hancock, MD, FACS, FRCSC Winnipeg, MB Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, FACS Hartford, CT L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS Seattle, WA

BOARD OF GOVERNORSChair

Chair
Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS
Albany, NY
Vice-Chair
Daniel L. Dent, MD, FACS
San Antonio, TX
Secretary
Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS

Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS



Chicago Headquarters

633 N. Saint Clair Street Chicago, IL 60611-3211

Voice: 312-202-5000 Fax: 312-202-5001 E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

Washington Office

20 F Street, NW Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20001

Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: ahp@facs.org

facs.org

March 18, 2020

The Honorable Raul Ruiz MD U.S. House of Representatives 2342 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Larry Bucshon MD U.S. House of Representatives 2313 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Ruiz and Bucshon:

On behalf of the more than 82,000 members of the American College of Surgeons, I would like to express our support for the *Good Samaritan Health Professionals Act* (H.R. 6283), legislation that would ensure disaster victims' access to medically necessary care in a federally declared emergency.

Rapid medical response in a disaster can greatly decrease loss of life and improve outcomes for patients who desperately need assistance. Surgeons with training in trauma and critical care, play a major role in the health care community's response to most disaster situations.

Due to inconsistent state laws and lack of federal policy, it is often unclear whether protections against unnecessary lawsuits exist for medical volunteers who cross state lines. Unfortunately, this uncertainty disincentives physicians from volunteering and in some cases, trained and qualified professionals have been turned away.

H.R. 6283 would provide volunteer health professionals with the same level of civil immunity they receive in their home state when providing care in a federally declared emergency. Removing barriers that prohibit licensed surgeons and other qualified physicians from voluntarily administering medically necessary care during disasters will ensure access to high-quality surgical services in the event of a crisis.

Thank you for your efforts and leadership on this issue, ACS strongly supports the *Good Samaritan Health Professionals Act*.

Sincerely,

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Executive Director

David B. Hyt