OFFICERS President Ronald V. Maier, MD, FACS Seattle, WA Immediate Past-President Barbara L. Bass, MD, FACS Houston, TX President-Elect Valerie W. Rusch, MD, FACS New York, NY First Vice-President Mark C. Weissler, MD, FACS Chapel Hill, NC First Vice-President-Elect John A. Weigelt, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD Second Vice-President Philip R. Caropreso, MD, FACS Keokuk, IA Second Vice-President-Elect F. Dean Griffen, MD, FACS Shreveport, LA Secretary Edward E. Cornwell III, MD, FACS Washington, DC Treasurer William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS Providence, RI

BOARD OF REGENTS

Executive Director David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS

Chicago, IL Chief Financial Officer Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

Gerald M. Fried, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC Vice-Chair James K. Elsey, MD, FACS Atlanta, GA Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester, MN James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS Alexandria, VA Margaret M. Dunn, MD, FACS Fairborn, OH Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS Saint Louis, MO Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS Miami, FL James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Omaha, NE B.J. Hancock, MD, FACS, FRCSC Winnipeg, MB Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, FACS Hartford, CT L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS New York, NY Lena M. Napolitano, MD, FACS Ann Arbor, MI Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX Kenneth W. Sharp, MD, FACS Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS Washington, DC Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS Sioux Falls, SD Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS Seattle WA

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Chair Steven C. Stain, MD. FACS Albany, NY Daniel L. Dent, MD, FACS San Antonio, TX Secretary Ronald J. Weigel, MD, PhD, FACS

Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS



Chicago Headquarters

633 N. Saint Clair Street Chicago, IL 60611-3211

Voice: 312-202-5000 Fax: 312-202-5001 E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

Washington Office

20 F Street, NW Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20001

Voice: 202-337-2701 202-337-4271 E-mail: ahp@facs.org

facs.org

March 19, 2019

The Honorable Sherrod Brown U.S. Senate 503 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Roger Wicker U.S. Senate 555 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Brown and Wicker:

On behalf of the more than 80,000 members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), I would like to express our continued support for the Removing Barriers to Colorectal Cancer Screening Act, S. 668. This legislation would eliminate an unintended cost barrier for Medicare beneficiaries to life-saving colorectal cancer screening. According to the National Cancer Institute, colorectal cancer is the second leading cause of cancer related death, when the data for men and women are combined. This statistic is especially troubling since colorectal cancer is largely preventable thanks to effective screening methods.

Under current law, Medicare waives co-insurance and deductibles for preventative colonoscopies. However, when a polyp is discovered and removed, the procedure is reclassified as therapeutic for Medicare billing purposes and patients are required to pay the coinsurance. This bipartisan legislation would waive Medicare's cost-sharing requirement for preventative colonoscopies, even if a polyp or tissue is removed. Not only is the cost-sharing obligation of current law confusing to patients, but it also results in the unintended consequence of creating a financial barrier to the most effective method of colorectal cancer prevention. S. 668 would help to ensure that the threat of unanticipated costs do not deter a patient from having the screening performed.

By removing this financial barrier, Congress would help increase screening rates and reduce the incidence of colorectal cancer. We thank you for your efforts and leadership on this important issue.

Sincerely,

David Hoyt, MD, FACS **Executive Director**

David B. Hyt